DSC Power 832 home security alarm ;How to clear 'Troubled Communication'

Old 06-01-09, 01:16 PM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
DSC Power 832 home security alarm ;How to clear 'Troubled Communication'

hi
I have DSC Power series 832 installed in my home and connected to my mobile phones. Recently I tested the intruder alarm and then the alarm went to my mobile.However inspite of pressing # a few times the beep message did not stop and the security alarm kept calling my mobile a further 8-10 times.Now it has a yellow light on the panel with the message 'view trouble communications' on it! I cannot get rid of the light and testing the alarm again has not helped get rid of it. I cannot understand why pressing the # button suddenly does not provide a response from either of my mobiles.I am a newbie and need guidance to sort this out and possibly avoid a call-out to an engineer!.Please help!

Sponsored Links
Old 06-01-09, 04:42 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 89 Votes on 83 Posts
It's set to the wrong dialer format. On a PC 5010/Power 832 you have to use the pager format to try to call a cell phone.

Old 06-01-09, 11:41 PM
S
Any reason why it has changed after a few years?

hi
thanks for the info but on the other hand it has been working correctly for over 4 years when my mobile used to get the rings and I was able to press the # button and answer it for alarm tests! Or Am I asking something too basic?! Apologies if I am!
many thanks

Old 06-02-09, 02:13 PM
you now have a new mobile phone- the old one would send tones longer than the new one you now have...

its a problem with the panel not hearing the tones you are pressing.

see if there is an option on the phone/s for longer DTMF or anything that has to do with sending touch tones

it will clear the yellow LED once a sucessful communication is made (it hearing you on the mobile phone)