PC1616 and rfk5501 stuck in 'system busy'

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-06-09, 10:07 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
PC1616 and rfk5501 stuck in 'system busy'

seemed to have entered something wrong while programming the panel/lcd keypad. The keypad is stuck in 'program' (icon stays on lcd). pressing the # will bring it out and the trouble indicator comes on (no phone line hookup) but cannot do anything else. if i press any numbers no beep and if i try to do a *8 i get one beep and nothing, will not accept the 8 or installers code.

tried to reset the panel by shorting the pgm with zone 1 (unplugged battery, plug into wall for 10sec etc) nothing different.

any suggestions? is there a way to reset lcd kypd to original config?

brian
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-06-09, 03:13 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,644
Received 89 Votes on 83 Posts
I suspect you set you keypad to "global" (which doesn't mean what people _think_ it means) by setting the address with a leading 0 (01 instead of 11).

Press and hold # until the keypad wakes up, then press 1, then go into programming and reset the keypad address.
 
  #3  
Old 06-06-09, 07:24 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks

OK,
got the keypad back. I guess the problem is the terminology. it is a lcd icon keypad not an lcd keypad.

have to kill the phone line trouble and the open door on the display now. some reading up to do.
 
  #4  
Old 06-06-09, 07:42 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
trouble

found your other post on removing telephone line error.
one down one to go.

have to re-read the manual tomorrow.

thanks.
 
  #5  
Old 06-06-09, 08:06 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
door gone now

ok,
read your sticky and saw that the end of line resistors was default, so changed that to none. now the door goes away when the zones are closed. if i open a zone the green check goes away and the door opens. I do not get a display of the zone which is opened thou. have to look at this next...

tomorrow is another day.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: