Security camera installation-wireless or wired

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-29-09, 11:59 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ohio-USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Security camera installation-wireless or wired

I have a small farm with several outbuidings at least 1,000 feet from the house. I would like to have 4 cameras, motion activated, mounted at different locations. Should they be hard-wired for better quality or wireless?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-29-09, 12:35 PM
kcxj's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 928
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I would do hardwired. You will need to trench and run conduit, but it will be more reliable and less constly than a wireless transmitters and receivers.
 
  #3  
Old 09-29-09, 04:29 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newfoundland, Canada
Posts: 98
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hardwire for sure. You will have too many issues with wireless. 1000' is no problem. You can use cat 5 with balons on both ends.
 
  #4  
Old 10-01-09, 07:14 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ohio-USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by kcxj View Post
I would do hardwired. You will need to trench and run conduit, but it will be more reliable and less constly than a wireless transmitters and receivers.
Thanks, but I have several sidewalks so would overhead be just as well?
 
  #5  
Old 10-01-09, 08:38 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newfoundland, Canada
Posts: 98
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If the wire an be attached securely, sure. I have ran both cat 5 and rg59 (video cable) this way and have had no issues with either.
 
  #6  
Old 10-07-09, 06:09 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Go wired

Definitely go wired and if runs are more then 400 ft use cat5 and balons. Never go wireless it simply wont work (I don,t even know why they make am). In your situation wiring will be a lot of work but trust me at the and of the day, it will be worth it.
The motion detection is actually build into most DVR systems and has nothing to do with cameras. Use any camera you like and enable motion detection in DVR setup.

cctv systems and intercom repair
 

Last edited by agairob; 10-07-09 at 06:12 PM. Reason: adding text
  #7  
Old 10-13-09, 06:12 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 363
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am with everyone else. Go with hard-wired. Its the only way to go. On another note, if you are going to run wires overhead, I would still use "direct burial" rated wire, it may cost a little more, but it is weather rated and is simply cheap insurance for the longevity of the cable against the elements.
 
  #8  
Old 10-16-09, 04:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ohio-USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks

Thank you. You know, when one has never did a project before, one needs all the help and advice as possible. This is what is so nice about the site.
 
  #9  
Old 10-16-09, 04:10 PM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
how wide are the sidewalks? Unless they are more extremely wide, I would still run underground. Getting under a sidewalk is not that difficult, usually.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: