Vista 20p 6150rf programming

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-11-09, 10:26 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: AR
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Vista 20p 6150rf programming

First, thanks for reading this. My problem is as follows: I have recently put in a 20p. This was a retro fit to replace an older cadaco <sp>. I have all the programming done, except ,my buddy (his house) wanted to add some more keypads. I have added 2 5828v's one in the bedroom and one in the front hall. I have a wired 6160 by the back door. The ademco installer's hot line guy said I would need a 5800tm to make the 5828v work. I had already installed a 5881 in the beginning, but didn't think about the 5828v being bi-directional. So i installed a 5800tm. Then I figured out that it wouldn't work with the 5828v's because it couldn't be addressed. So i have removed the 5881 and the 5800tm and now have a 6150rf which i believe is the way to go. I am just having a headache of programming the 6150 in the system. The 5828 are programmed in except do not have current status. So if any one could help me program the 6150rf and probably the 5828v again (since I removed the 5881) It would be very much apppreciated.
 
  #2  
Old 12-11-09, 10:52 AM
F
Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: usa
Posts: 218
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Smile

Did you activate the 6150 rf in sections 190? Did you also address the 6150 properly? The 5828s won't work until the 6150 rf is installed properly.
 
  #3  
Old 12-11-09, 12:04 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: AR
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, I believe the 6150 is addressed correctly as a keypad. I have to look into the sections 190 part though. Or in section 190 do you mean as a keypad address?
 

Last edited by splinter344; 12-11-09 at 12:21 PM.
  #4  
Old 12-11-09, 02:34 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: usa
Posts: 218
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Smile

Assuming you have the 6160 keypad set as address 16 you can make the 6150rf address 17. To set the address inside the keypad power it up then hit buttons 1 and 3 at the same time.This will get you into keypad programming.The display should flash 00 if not hit *. To enter address hit 1 then 17*.Wait about 30 seconds. Then get into panel programming ( installer code 800), hit *190 then 10. That will activate keypad 17. Hit *99 to exit programming.

Doing this procedure will set the keypad address at 17 and turn on keypad 17 in the main panel. Any wireless info that you have programmed before was stored in the main panel. So removing the old 5881 and addind the 6150 rf shouldn't cause you to have to reprogram anything.
 
  #5  
Old 12-14-09, 11:47 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: AR
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
First thank you for your reply, your help is greatly appreciated. I have done what you suggested. The 6150rf works now, but I still don't have status on the 5828v's. I had the 6150rf installed within 5 feet of the panel, in the instructions it says to install at least 10 feet away. I switched locations with the 6160 alpha so it is about 35 feet away. Both panels arm and disarm the system, the house code is correct, I set the receiver number at 30 and the receiver and transmitter are both turned on. But the 6160 and the 6150rf both say check 100rf? Any ideas?
 
  #6  
Old 12-14-09, 05:48 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,857
Received 116 Votes on 107 Posts
If you have not yet enrolled any wireless devices, but have the wireless reciever turned on, you will get a check 100 (wireless receiver) trouble.
 
  #7  
Old 12-14-09, 08:55 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: usa
Posts: 218
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Smile

The receiver address in the keypad is supposed to be 00 not 30.
 
  #8  
Old 12-14-09, 09:51 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,857
Received 116 Votes on 107 Posts
Ah! good catch! I skimmed right over the fact that the address was not right. Yup, set the receiver address to 00. Don't confuse house code with receiver address; they are very different things.
 
  #9  
Old 12-16-09, 09:22 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: AR
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'll the change the receiver address to 00. I failed to mention earlier that I have (2) 5828v's (if that matters). The wireless receiver should to turned on for the 5828v's? Will they auto enroll? I have no other wireless devices. Thanks again.
 
  #10  
Old 12-16-09, 09:32 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,857
Received 116 Votes on 107 Posts
The 5828s are where the house code comes into play.

Seriously, all of this is in the installation and setup instructions for the keypads.

Alarms are _not_ intuitive. You really do have to read the manual.
 
  #11  
Old 12-16-09, 09:59 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: AR
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry this isn't my line of work. I have read the manual's many times. I do seriously appreciate your help. Since the 5828's are wireless I guess I assumed that the wireless receiver should be turned on. Sorry for all the questions. Have a Merry Christmas and God bless.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: