Vista 20p - adding a 6150 keypad

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-01-10, 09:11 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Vista 20p - adding a 6150 keypad

I would like to add a 6150 keypad to my system. I currently have a 6150 already installed. I would appreciate some step by step instructions on how to install and program the keypad. It sounds like I have to set the address of the keypad to 17, and then I would like to program the keypad to enable the "stay" arming and "away" armings. How do I do this?

Thanks!
Jeff
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-01-10, 11:35 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 927
Received 13 Votes on 13 Posts
The instructions for setting the address will come with the keypad. Setting the keypad address is done in the keypad, not in the control panel programming. No code is required and you can't really mess anything up. So breathe easy.

The programming for the "Stay" and "Away" arming is already fixed in the control panel and the function buttons on your new keypad will work as your existing one does--that's programmed (or left at default) in Installer Programming, and works for all keypads in the system. Keypad address is all you need to do.

If you feel the need to read the instructions before your keypad arrives, try here:
http://www.diyalarmforum.com/Downloa...51-install.pdf

This is for a 6151 keypad, so ignore anything confusing and just scroll to the instructions for setting the keypad address. Setting the address is the same for all keypads.

One caveat about a quirk that stops a lot of newbies doing this: If you let more than a few seconds go by without pushing a key, the keypad drops out of program mode without warning. So read the directions beforehand, and be ready to make your entries in a timely fashion. You don't have to "machine-gun" the entries, but pushing a button and then pausing to read the next instruction usually doesn't work well.

EDIT: Whoops--neglected to pay close attention to thread title.
 
  #3  
Old 03-01-10, 12:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks! That is helpful.
 
  #4  
Old 10-21-12, 06:39 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Usa
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ademco alarm issue

I have an ademco vista 20p with 2 wired keypads the main keypad is ok but the secondary keypad needed replacement. I replaced it with a Honeywell 6150 and I was getting a check 100 rf code. I don't understand why I'm getting this code as I replaced a wired keypad with another wired keypad. I left the keypad hooked up because everything seemed to work ok but after a while I got codes on all my wireless sensors and can't arm the system. Please help
Thanks
Rich
 
  #5  
Old 10-21-12, 08:22 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,215
Received 32 Votes on 31 Posts
It sounds like the keypad you replaced was a 6150RF, which is also your wireless receiver.

Either replace the keypad you installed with a RF model (6150RF or 6160RF), or install a wireless receiver (5881H).

I recommend the RF keypad, and I would chose the Alpha model (6160RF) unless cost is an absolute issue.

As an alternative, if you replaced the keypad because the keys weren't working properly, you can activate a 3rd keypad address, and install the old 6150RF next to the alarm control box, and the wireless receiver will work just fine from there (unless your house is _very_ large or has a strange constuction).
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: