yellow trouble light ADT Power series

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-22-10, 05:50 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yellow trouble light ADT Power series

Good Morning
Please help- I have an unmonitored security system and recently the yellow trouble light is on- the alarm still gets set and works but unsure what the trouble light means and how to get it off. I could find no info in the manual. Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-22-10, 06:39 AM
LOCKtec's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NorthWest Ohio, SouthEast Michigan
Posts: 398
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
chances are this is a DSC power series panel used by ADT


press *2, see which LED's light up- that will tell you what the trouble condition is (the LED's for zones will light, or if its an LCD display something will show up there

the most common is a low panel battery. these should be need replaced every 3 - 5 years.

has it went into alarm recently? it cold be a fail to communicate also.

report back
 
  #3  
Old 12-22-10, 08:36 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi
thanks for the quick reply- I tried the *2 and zone 1 lit up!?! Now what? As far as the battery I didn't think there was one

I appreciate your advice- I am at a loss

Kathy
 
  #4  
Old 12-22-10, 09:33 AM
LOCKtec's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NorthWest Ohio, SouthEast Michigan
Posts: 398
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ok-

1 on, press 1 - then see which light comes on

- so, *2 , ( LED for zone 1 on ) press 1

now, another or more than 1 will light

if its another 1, or doesnt appear to do anything, its a LOW panel battery-

yes, there is a rechargable battery in a metal box somewhere in the house. basement, or closet

its either a 12 volt, 4 amp (standard) or a 12 volt, 7 or 8 amp battery.

if after pressing the 1 button, its NOT zone 1 lighting up- then that zone/s that do light up mean something else-

iam not going to list them all, as there are 8 of them

respond back with your findings
 
  #5  
Old 12-22-10, 11:13 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I tried pressing *2 1 and only 1 stayed on . I then entered my code and tried it again and no zone light up and the ready light isn't even on now?!?!?
 
  #6  
Old 12-22-10, 12:26 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,526
Received 74 Votes on 70 Posts
You have a low battery. Replace the battery. The battery is in the metal box with the motherboard. You need a 12V 4 to 7aH battery. You don't have to power down. the connectors are just slip on connectors.
 
  #7  
Old 12-22-10, 12:45 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks so much - I will try that- I really appreciate all the help this forum has provided. I called ADT and they wouldn't tell me anything because I wasn't monitored- you guys are the best. Merry Christmas
 
  #8  
Old 01-16-11, 12:11 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am having a similar problem. Our is showing a failure to communicate, which makes sense since we cancelled monitoring, but it also shows a problem with zone 4...our glassbreak. I have no idea how to get the cover off the glassbreak. I thought I might need to change the battery. But then, isn't it hardwired? Perhaps I need to replace the main battery?

Thanks in advance!
 
  #9  
Old 01-16-11, 12:43 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,526
Received 74 Votes on 70 Posts
You are misreading the trouble display. Trouble 4 is loss of telephone line, trouble 7 is failure to communicate.

The only way to correct this is to either restore telephone communications or to access programming and disable the communicator and telephone line monitor function.

If this is an ADT installed system, you can find the installer code by websearching with the phrase: "ADT installer code"

Once you have this, you can use the steps outlined in the sticky titled "Alarm Forum FAQ (Please read before posting)" in the section on DSC hardware.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: