westec 5000s alarm

Closed Thread

  #1  
Old 12-24-10, 10:47 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
westec 5000s alarm

I bought a condo with a westec 5000s smoke and burglar alarm. I want to turn on the system for the smoke alarm only. I have the manual for the system but need the owner's access code set on the system at the factory. The previous owner never activated the system. The manual does not show a code for this. this system was probably installed in 1993.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-24-10, 11:17 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,319
Received 38 Votes on 37 Posts
If you read through the long thread you appended to the end of; you will note that this is a long discontinued "orphan" system. Trust me; replacing the keypad(s) and control is the cost effective solution.

There is little to no technical info floating around for these, and they were pretty proprietary, even when they were new.
 
  #3  
Old 12-24-10, 02:02 PM
LOCKtec's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NorthWest Ohio, SouthEast Michigan
Posts: 398
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
are you wanting a MONITORED fire alarm system?

if not- this current one should work- normally smoke/fire alarms do not need to be armed to work

no need for the code then

if you just want smoke alarms, get some and use those.


this panel is old, i would guess before '93

they require a WESTEC™ programmer, we sold ours years ago on e-bay®. Any customer that has one right now, we up grade to a new panel & keypads.

if you have no disire for a security system, use regular smoke alarms
 
  #4  
Old 08-04-14, 05:28 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
5000s does not require a programming card it may be programmed directly from the codepad however you must have a programming sheet as it is all LED driven and you wouldn't know what you were entering without the sheet unless you had it memorized. I do have a copy of the manuals for a 5000 as well as a 5000s and used to install them.
 
  #5  
Old 08-04-14, 05:34 PM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PA - USA
Posts: 4,416
Received 66 Votes on 53 Posts
This thread is almost 4yrs. old and the OP has not been back in 3 yrs.
 
Closed Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: