brinks bhs 1200 system

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-03-11, 06:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
brinks bhs 1200 system

We just moved into a house with a brinks bhs 1200 system, 1 keypad and 1 monitor. We had several break-ins in the nieighborhood last night and I wanted to have the system "alarm" without subscribing to monitoring. we do not have the original code and I've read several post and looked for a code possibly written on the wiring diagram, no luck , Is there any way to set the system up to beep when the door is opened?? thanks for any help!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-03-11, 07:51 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,143
Upvotes: 0
Received 23 Votes on 22 Posts
Basically, Brinks hardware is proprietary. Without their cooperation, you will not be able to utilize this alarm control (short of a lucky guess at the user code); and there is no practical way to reprogram it as a local system without Brinks' cooperation.
 
  #3  
Old 04-29-11, 07:54 AM
gigurl86's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have the same system and paying for ADT monitoring service, but there is no signal ADT can monitor since I don't have a land line. I have been doing this for a couple of years and wonder if I discontinue service if the alarm will still sound. I do have my code, but not sure if it will still work after I cancel the service. Any experiences with this? Should I stop throwing away $30 bucks a month?
 
  #4  
Old 04-29-11, 04:10 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,143
Upvotes: 0
Received 23 Votes on 22 Posts
If it is Brinks hardware, there's no DIY reprogramming. Whoever last programmed the system will have to reset it as a local system. If they are unwilling, unable, or you are unwilling to pay for the service call, then all you can do is replace the keypad(s) and control with a more generic hardware.
 
  #5  
Old 05-02-11, 07:26 PM
kcxj's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 928
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Check again in the metal control box. There may be some handwritten cryptic notes, like:

AID: 5395-04
MC: 749

Every Brinks install I have seen has had the Master code written in the panel. I think it has to do with having to change the code via programmer or download.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: