Could I have T-mobile/AT&T service my ADT CellGuard Cell Dialer?


  #1  
Old 05-28-11, 01:30 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Could I have T-mobile/AT&T service my ADT CellGuard Cell Dialer?

Hi everyone,

I have an ADT SafeWatch 3000 with the CellGuard dialer. I no longer have monitoring service with ADT because I would like to cut the extra cost. I will be working from home full time soon so I won't need monitoring service that much. However, I still use the alarm system to arm/disarm when i will go out or sleep.

I would like to know if it's possible to sign up with a cell phone provider and register my CellGuard dialer so it will call my cell phone if alarm was tripped. I have thought about a voice dialer but it's no good if someone cuts the phone line. I've seen the cell dialer(needs an active bluetooth cellphone?) but it cost more than $500. I would like to make use of my existing hardware if possible.

Thank you in advance for your help.
 
  #2  
Old 05-30-11, 08:46 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,601
Received 315 Upvotes on 290 Posts
No, these dialers cannot be programmed for independent use. They operate on what amounts to a specific "subchannel" of the cell network.
It's just the standard Honeywell/Ademco GSM dialer.
 
  #3  
Old 06-06-11, 09:17 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thank you MrRon for your explanantion. I am buying the auto dialer and the xlink bluetooth adapter. I plan on using a dedicated cellphone to dial out. Will this work well?
 
  #4  
Old 06-07-11, 07:14 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,601
Received 315 Upvotes on 290 Posts
Dunno. It all depends on how well the adaptor emulates a normal landline, and the quality of your cell connection.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: