Kicked ADT in the face, now what, newbie needs help

Old 09-12-11, 10:15 AM
B
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Kicked ADT in the face, now what, newbie needs help

I am a complete newby with alarm industry and here as well. i have a bunch of questions as this is an unchartered territory for me but i am ready and willing to follow you the trailblazers to implement my system.

i have finally kicked A*T out of my home and am ready to move on to a less costly service. phew what relief! i have the 30 days cancellation of service issued to A*T. i was on a month basis, i own my equipment and i have it's installer, master and all codes. it's a DSC1555 (old i know but still serves me well) i am watching my budget so i don't want to invest in another system

1-i am wondering if A,T can mess with/change my installer code perhaps through the phone line as it's still connected to them before the 30 days are out?

2-the monitoring service i am considering for $8.95 sent me this statement
"Our GSM Dialer will not work with Contact ID which is what the DSC1555 uses. Can you tell me if it has the option to call your cell phone instead of the CMS? Basically, if it can make a regular voice call, then our GSM Dialer will work."

How can i establish this?

3-i want to cut the phone and use GSM cellular monitoring. i want to invest in a universal dialer that i can move to, and can work with any company of my choice. but i don't know which one. please recommend a common popular one that will connect with my DSC1555.

the monitoring company is offering me a GSM dialer which he confirms will not work with Contact ID which is what the DSC1555 uses. alternatively i have a good deal on ebay for an Uplink DigiCell 1500 and a DigiCell 2500 Alarm Transmitters.
4- can these connect to my system?
5- do you know if the uplink digicells uses a data channel to communicate or does it send the signal the same way as a regular phone call is made?