Concord Low CPU Batt

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-21-11, 07:41 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Concord Low CPU Batt

I have a fairly new Concord alarm system--we moved into our newly constructed home June 2010. We had a tornado go through our subdivision a few days ago and of course we lost power. When power was restored 12 hours later, the Touchpad periodically shows "Low CPU Batt." I figured that it would just need time to recharge the battery (they recharge, right??). But it gives me this warning by sending out 4 or 5 beeps at exactly 3:46 AM. Yes AM.
Funny thing is, sometimes it says system is ok...Tonight it said system ok, but I ran the sensor test and the touchpad immediately displayed the 'Low CPU Batt' again. 15 min later, it says "System ok." Any ideas? Do I need a new battery or is there maybe a bad wire somewhere?
Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-22-11, 04:47 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,745
Received 101 Votes on 93 Posts
These batteries often don't recover from a deep depletion like you had. Replace the battery, if it hasn't recharged by now, it's not going to.
 
  #3  
Old 11-22-11, 05:58 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

Thanks for your help! Do I need to turn off AC power before changing the battery? What is exact process for changing battery (remove red before black, etc)? I appreciate it!
 
  #4  
Old 11-22-11, 10:43 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,745
Received 101 Votes on 93 Posts
It's 12V. Unplug the connectors and plug them onto the new battery; no need to power down.

For various technical reasons, it's better to disconnect the negative first and reconnect it last, but at these current levels, it honestly doesn't matter.

It may take up to a day for the system to run the battery test again, and clear the trouble.
 
  #5  
Old 11-22-11, 03:23 PM
G
Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,412
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Do a sensor test after you replace the battery....it'll check the battery voltage and clear the low batt
 
  #6  
Old 11-22-11, 06:56 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you guys! I replaced the battery as so far all looks good!
 
  #7  
Old 03-07-12, 08:11 PM
N
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Battery Location

I took the cover and checked the back panel but I don't even see where the battery is located or any parts that are removable. I didn't install it so not too familiar with the product. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
 
  #8  
Old 03-08-12, 04:29 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,745
Received 101 Votes on 93 Posts
It's not behind the keypad, it's in the metal box with the motherboard typically located in places like the master bedroom closet, or a utility room.
 
  #9  
Old 03-08-12, 05:41 AM
N
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you. I got it figured out now. It's all coming together!
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: