Can I Use a Simon XT System and not pay monthly fees and have it call my phone?

Old 02-18-12, 06:47 PM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Can I Use a Simon XT System and not pay monthly fees and have it call my phone?

I am new to this game and I tried to read other posts to learn but I'm not sure if I have to correct information.

I would like to install a new Wireless Simon XT system in my house and I do not want to pay someone a monthly fee to monitor it. I would be happy with receiving a phone call or a text message telling me the alarm is going off. I would really really like to be able to use my iPhone to tell me exactly which sensor is going off if at all possible. Can someone tell me if the Simon XT is capable of this and what I must do to accomplish it? If the Simon XT cannot do this are there any other units on the market that can? Thanks in advance!

Remember, my goal here is no monthly monitoring fee, the iPhone app is just a plus but not required.

Old 02-18-12, 08:44 PM
G
You can have it call up to 4 phone numbers and leave you a message in case of an alarm (no extra equipment needed except a landline)...anything above and beyond that is going to require a monthly fee...

Old 02-19-12, 04:13 AM
J
As for the land line..I can just use magic jack I suppose? I'm also not going to be having a real land line to avoid unnecessary costs. Everyone has cell phones now.

Old 02-19-12, 05:47 PM
G
MagicJack is VOIP, not an analogue line. No guarantees that it will work....

Old 02-20-12, 07:58 AM
J
It seems there are tons of people out there who want a security system and want to monitor it them self and with today's technology that is entirely possible. Also many want to control it via their smart phones. Why doesn't anyone make one of these? We do not want to pay someone a monthly fee for a burglary that may never happen!

Old 02-20-12, 01:19 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 293 Upvotes on 268 Posts