DSC PC3000 - All LED's on after lightening storm.


  #1  
Old 03-01-12, 08:32 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
DSC PC3000 - All LED's on after lightening storm.

During the storm, we lost power for a short time. After power was restored, all the red LED's on the keypad were on, and have stayed on since. The TROUBLE light is on too. I believe this circuit board has surge protection, but I don't know if the board has been compromised.

Also, there was a DEFECTIVE BATTERY condition which I confirmed by pressing [ * 2 ] and having zone 1 LED come on. The battery will not hold a charge. If I knew the board was not damaged I would replace the battery. Or am I out of luck? Any thoughts would be appreciated.
 
  #2  
Old 03-01-12, 09:54 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 17,596
Received 241 Votes on 220 Posts
The older DSC systems sometimes will essentially default themselves if they lose power with a failing battery. Does the keypad respond to keypresses?
 
  #3  
Old 03-01-12, 10:24 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes. We have frequent power outages here. Afterwords, the system beeps every 10 - 15 seconds. I am able to clear this by pressing any key.

As mentioned earlier, I can query the system using *2.

I figured that if I reset the system, the program would clear the lights and function normally. I reset the EEPROM by shorting two pins on the board. Then the PROGRAM light came on. But it reverted to all LED's on.
 
  #4  
Old 03-01-12, 10:53 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 17,596
Received 241 Votes on 220 Posts
That's because the default setting turns the requirement for EOL resistors back on (which 90% of DSC installers disable).

You are going to have to set your zone configuration back to match your actual zones, again, as well as correcting this. Do you have an installer manual?

*8 [installer code]
18
Turn ON option 5 to disable the need for EOL resistors.
press # til you exit programming.
 
  #5  
Old 03-01-12, 11:02 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I just have the owner's manual which doesn't tell me much. I guess I need the installation manual.
 
  #6  
Old 03-01-12, 12:34 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 17,596
Received 241 Votes on 220 Posts
dsc pc3000 installer manual - Google Search

Look abbout 3-4 search results down.
 
  #7  
Old 03-01-12, 02:43 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks MrRonFL.

I have cleared the LED's and now have the READY light on. I also programmed a new access code.
The only problem I have is setting the exit and entrance time delays. I entered * 8 [Installer's Code] 22 then 6 pairs of digits: 10,10,01,99,50,99. I thought the "10's" were delay times in seconds. When I armed the system and opened the door, the alarm sounded. Do you have to associate which zone(s) are the doors? If so how? Thanks again!!!!
 
  #8  
Old 03-01-12, 06:23 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 17,596
Received 241 Votes on 220 Posts
Yes, you have to set the zone types for each zone again.

Look at programming location 17.

10 seconds is a _really_ short entry or exit delay. I generally consider 30 seconds to be the dead minimum.
 
  #9  
Old 03-02-12, 11:21 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I setup the zone definitions (Sections 16 & 17) and all seems to be working OK.

The strange thing is when programming section 22 (System Times), I needed to enter 3 digits (not 2) for each of the 6 conditions in order to finish programming; e.g. to enter a 10 second delay, I entered 010. Then the system appeared to accept the data. Is this right?

I currently do not have a contract with a monitoring company. Do I need to program Section 33 (Communicator Call Direction Options) with a 0 so the system does not try to dial out? Do I do this for each of the six conditions?
Right now there is a "1" in all 6 conditions. Thanks.
 
  #10  
Old 03-02-12, 12:35 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 17,596
Received 241 Votes on 220 Posts
Yes, the later models of this system did take 3 digit time entries. The manuals for those later models are floating around the web, but thats one of the few differences with the earlier ones.

To disable the dialer, turn ON option 1 in programming location 18 and turn ON option 7 in programming location 19.
 
  #11  
Old 03-02-12, 02:40 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
MrRonFL

I can't thank you enough. You saved me lots of $$$$.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: