ADT alarm beeping in newly moved house


  #1  
Old 03-18-12, 05:52 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ADT alarm beeping in newly moved house

Hi,
I had bought a property about 6 months ago which already have ADT alarm "Ademco Microtech Galaxy 8 Plus CP171" installed and was used by the previous owners. Obviously before they left, they unsubscribed from ADT(and didnt give me any code). Last week I had a ADT engineer visit and he offered that alarm is already installed and can be directly activated for monitoring (but No police calls) for 25 pounds per month with 3 years contract.

Yesterday night my 2 years ki randomly pressed some buttons and it started beeping showing "Alarm is active" on the keypad. I called ADT and they said either I have to subscribe with them or have to get the alarm ripped off from my local electrician or leave it the way it is. He told me a code to "mute" the alarm. So now its not beeping but still shows "Alarm is active" on the keypad.
I have following questions
1) Can I reset the alarm, assign a new code and use the alarm without paying ADT (ofcourse ADT will not monitor)?
2) How can I reset the code myself and how hard is it?
3) Surprisingly ADT the box fixed on the outside wall didnt make any noise. Is this normal? Engineer who I spoke to said good that it didnt go off as otherwise they had to send an engineer to stop it. So he said insider alarm must have triggered because of some invalid codes entered or power supply failure etc.
4) Is there any way I can configure this alarm system to call my mobile number? It is currently connected to the phone line and is perhaps configured to call ADT.
Thanks in advance
 
  #2  
Old 03-19-12, 04:04 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No comments yet!!
Any replies please?
 
  #3  
Old 03-19-12, 05:12 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 17,596
Received 241 Votes on 220 Posts
Volunteer forum...not manned 24-7...
First, a user manual: http://www.conceptfiresec.com/docs/G...user-guide.pdf

First, as I understand, the installing companies in the UK have a lot more legal control over the hardware than here in North America, so it's very possible that all you will be able to do with this system is to replace the control and keypad(s).

I'm guessing that the alarm sounder is either bad or disconnected.

In order to have a chance, you need the installer/engineer manual for this system, which seem to be difficult to find for a free download, so you will probably have to buy a copy from one of the myriad of PDF vendors on the web.
 
  #4  
Old 03-24-12, 03:03 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Same position

Hi,

I'm in exactly the same position as the original post. New house, existing alarm, ADT want to charge a fortune to reset. I don't have any codes, previous owner never left them. If there a link to the service/installation manual or did the original poster get to solve this issue?

many thanks

Paul G
 
  #5  
Old 03-24-12, 07:51 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 17,596
Received 241 Votes on 220 Posts
Are you also in the UK or is this a North American model? What's the model number inside the door of the metal cabinet?
 
  #6  
Old 03-24-12, 03:29 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi,

Am in the UK, model number on the main unit is "Ademco Microtech Galaxy 8 Plus CP171". No number inside the door of the control unit. I've removed the cover on the main unit and the number inside the door of the metal cabinet is 192260108, this number is also on a label on the circuit board.

Many thanks

Paul
 
  #7  
Old 03-24-12, 06:42 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 17,596
Received 241 Votes on 220 Posts
The answer has not changed. There are lots of places to get the user manual for this system. The installation/engineer manual seems to not be posted anyplace other hand the nominal fee download sites.

Sorry...
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: