Help with ADT Safewatch Pro 3000 - need to remove then add new motion detector

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-10-12, 10:02 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Help with ADT Safewatch Pro 3000 - need to remove then add new motion detector

I recently purchased a home, and upgraded the alarm system from Brinks to ADT. The installer kept one hard wired motion detector and installed a number of wireless window and door devices as well as a new motion detector in another part of the house. The problem is that the old (hardwired) motion detector has been set off about 4-5 times by my cat (although the installer said that the cat wouldn't trigger the alarm). I have "jumpered" the hardwired detector so it no longer works, but I would like to replace it with a wireless one. My questions are:

How can I "turn off" the hardwired detector (i.e. reprogram that zone to be off)?
Where can I purchase a wireless detecor that would be compatible?
How would I reprogram the alarm system to recognize the new motion detector?

Thanks

Don
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-10-12, 02:28 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,213
Received 32 Votes on 31 Posts
It's a modified Vista 20p.

If you are just wanting to upgrade the wired motion to a newer, less false trip prone one, you can just swap it. Otherwise, the easy way to remove the device is to disconnect the zone and power wires at the system motherboard and jumper the zone input closed with a resistor or a simple wire jumper (depending on which way your system was set to require).

The wireless devices are standard Honeywell/Ademco 5800 series transmitters.
 
  #3  
Old 09-11-12, 11:09 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Ron,

Do you know of a replacement wired montion detector that I should look for? It sounds like that would be the easiest way to fix the problem. BTW, I have jumpered the zone closed with the resistor that was already in place.Don
 
  #4  
Old 09-11-12, 01:17 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,213
Received 32 Votes on 31 Posts
Pretty much any of the major brands/models listed as "pet immune" will work for a cat. The trick is you have to read the instructions and aim them correctly (i.e. don't put the 4' tall cat tree, or the cat's favorite piece of furniture to climb on right in the field of view...)

I've been buying this one from Honeywell, lately: IS2500 Series

I've had pretty good results from similar models from DSC and Bosch.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: