DSC PC 1616 wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-25-12, 02:17 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Romania
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
DSC PC 1616 wiring

I have a dsc 1616 and 9 lc-100pi motion detector. I wold like to know if the wiring that i did is corect for NC loops :

From NC on the pir to Z on the mother board.
From -12v on the pir to COM on the mother board.
From +12v on the pir to AUX + on the mother board.
Also from C on the pir i've conected a 5600resistor to -12v ( like a bridge).

It's ok like this?

And i have 3 sensors on a loop conected like :

First pir is cabled like above, except the resistor.
On the second pir - From C on the first to NC on the second and from C of the secon to NC of the third. The last pir in the loop is wired just like above ( with the 5600 resistor betwen C and -12v ) It,s ok ?

Thank you for your'e support!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-25-12, 03:36 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,327
Received 38 Votes on 37 Posts
No, the resistor goes in series with the zone input wiring, not the power wiring; and if you have programmed the zones for NC (instead of EOL), then you don't need the resistor at all.
 
  #3  
Old 09-26-12, 11:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Romania
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you verry much Mr Ron. I solved all the wiring and the programing. I have one problem...i want to make to partitions - partition 1 - zones 1 / 2 / 3 / 4 / 5; - partition 2 - zone 6

I programed section 201 opt 1 and 2 on, 202 - 1,2,3,4,5 on , 210 - 6 on. I programed General code 01 for partition 2 - *5 MC 98 01 ( led nr 2 on ) and code nr 01 *5 MC 01 GC ##

Problem is that when i try to arm partiton 2 with the General Code 01 i get and error and the sistem does not arm. Any ideea what i did wrong?

Thank you for youre support

P.S. With only one partition the system is working properly.
 
  #4  
Old 09-27-12, 03:53 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,327
Received 38 Votes on 37 Posts
Are you changing the keypad to partition 2 before you try to arm that partition?
 
  #5  
Old 09-27-12, 07:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Romania
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I didn't know i had to do that.....how can i do it ?
 
  #6  
Old 09-27-12, 06:52 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,327
Received 38 Votes on 37 Posts
To change the partition displayed by the keypad, press and hold # for two or three seconds, then press and hold the number key for the partition you are changing to. Then you will be able to arm/disarm your other partition.

It will revert back to the default partition after a few seconds.
 
  #7  
Old 09-27-12, 11:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Romania
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you verry much. I will try soon as i get at the house.
 
  #8  
Old 10-19-12, 05:39 PM
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Arrow DSC PC1832 programming problem

I have a DSC PC1832 panel and 5516 keypad.

All were wired from the existing owner and was told working well under the security monitoring company.

There are 4 wireless door contacts and one wireless motion detector.

Recently, the system start giving fault with some zones open occasionally. I tried to reset it couple times; and just thought the batteries are at their end of lives, I purchased some new batteries and replaced them.

The system still given fault. I tried to re-programmed the system according to the instruction of the system. At first it worked fine for about an hour then gave fault again.

I tried to check it and re-programmed it and now it doesn't matter what I entered, there was no fault show and the system shows normal but it seems there is no wireless zone was detected by the panel.

I notice that each time I enter the ESN I found on the keypad had some number at each zone before I enter the actual number such:

to enter the ESN for zone 1, I entered *8 5555 804 01 ( there were some number on the LCD especially no 2) then if I entered the actual number, there are some 1 3 4 or 2 3 5 displayed each time I enter the digit of ESN.

Please help!

Thanks,
 
  #9  
Old 10-19-12, 09:03 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,327
Received 38 Votes on 37 Posts
If you have a LED keypad (which is what a 5516 is). Look on page 9 of the installer manual for how to interpret programming data on this interface:

http://www.walkerhomesecurity.com/ho...007359r003.pdf
 
  #10  
Old 10-20-12, 08:47 AM
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Ron:

Thank you for get back too soon.

When I entered section 804, the keypad displayed the value #2 for all zones, which are for the wireless contacts, except the motion detector, it shows 2 values #1 & #2.

Then if I entered the first ESN numbers which is 25D804, the value would be #1, #3 for the first digit which is 2 then as I entered 5, the keypad showed #1 #3 & #4 then the value #4 as I entered *4* and value #3 as I entered 804.

So on with other ESN and in the end the panel seems not registered any of the wireless. Do you think I should do hard reset the panel?

Thanks for advice.
 
  #11  
Old 10-20-12, 10:38 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,327
Received 38 Votes on 37 Posts
Did you turn on the wireless attribute for the wireless zones in the programming locations corresponding to those zones? (1xx -- xx being the zone number).

Because this stuff is all essentially custom configurations _every time_ there's not really a short cut around wading through the manuals and getting a grasp on the programming interface.

From the manual for the wireless receiver: http://www.walkerhomesecurity.com/ho...05043_r004.pdf
"4.1 Program Zones and Partitions
Now that you have enrolled the wireless devices, you should complete all zone
programming on the system. Although the exact programming required varies
depending on which control panel the PC5132-433 is connected to, you should
check that the following programming areas are completed correctly for each
wireless zone:
Enable zones and/or assign zones to one or more partitions (programming
sections [202]-[205] or [202] to [265] for the PC5020).
Program the definition for each zone (programming sections [001]-[004]).
Enable the wireless zone attribute for each wireless zone (PC580, PC1555,
PC501X v2.0, PC5020 v3.0 and higher only) (sections [101]-[132]).
See your system Installation Manual, for more information on each of the above
programming sections."
 
  #12  
Old 10-21-12, 03:46 AM
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Ron:

According to the installation manual and through the thread, I have done exactly as shown:

*8 5555 101 1 3 5 8 ##
*8 5555 102 1 3 5 8 ## and so on for 4 wireless contacts zone and one motion detector zone. I ignored one wireless contact which I could not find the ESN on it by entered:

*8 5555 001 03 01 03 03 05 00 00 00 ##

I am totally lost on this, and as I wrote you yesterday, I left home for work and still not back their yet.

I will check with the manual to learn more on that as soon as I am home.

Thanks again if you will have more suggestion.
 
  #13  
Old 10-21-12, 08:16 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,327
Received 38 Votes on 37 Posts
There's where you erred. The settings in the attribute (1xx) are initially set by the zone type you set for the zone in location 001. You _only_ alter the wireless attribute unless you are doing something unusual or specialized.

In programming location 001 on a PC1832, the first _16_ zones get their zone type set. You set the first 8 zones, then exited the section leaving the remaining zones that you are using set as 00 (unused).
 
  #14  
Old 10-22-12, 04:39 AM
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Ron:

Thank you for advising. What should I do for either section 101 or 804 if I have 5 wireless devices which are 4 door contacts and one motion detector. for example zone #1, #3, #4 are the door which I want trigger alarm as soon as either of these doors is open if the system is armed. Zone #2 will be for exit and entry will be delayed, zone #5 will be the motion detector. If I am adding up some more wireless devices, what should I enter in section 101 to be correct.

Your suggestion on setting this up correctly would be greatly appreciated. I will be home this afternoon and will follow your instruction to test the system.

Thanks again.
 
  #15  
Old 10-22-12, 07:36 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,327
Received 38 Votes on 37 Posts
Step 1: enroll ESNs.
Step 2: set zone types
*8 [installer code] 001 xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx (xx being the zone type for each of the first 16 zones, in order)
Step 3: Go to programming locations 1xx for each zone and turn on the wireless attribute. That's _all_ you normally need to mess with for the attributes.
Step 4: Make sure that all of your zones are active in the partition in programming location (zones 1-16 are default active in partition 1).

That should do the trick.
 
  #16  
Old 10-23-12, 01:58 PM
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Ron:

Just got back home from a long trip and followed your advise. I did like the following:

*8 5555 804 01 ESN #
*8 5555 804 02 ESN #
*8 5555 804 03 ESN #
*8 5555 804 04 ESN #
*8 5555 804 05 ESN #

Those are for the 4 wireless contacts and the motion sensor.

Then:

*8 5555 101 8 #
102 8 #
103 8 #
104 8 #
105 8 #

001 03 01 03 03 05 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00

As soon as the 16th zone entered, the arm light lit. so I just pressed # once.

I was back to the beginning as there was no wireless registered on the system.

I am really lost here. I wonder what have I done wrong here? May you let me know. Thank for your time and appreciate your patient.
 
  #17  
Old 10-23-12, 02:11 PM
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Ron:

Just got back home from a long trip and followed your advise. I did like the following:

*8 5555 804 01 ESN #
*8 5555 804 02 ESN #
*8 5555 804 03 ESN #
*8 5555 804 04 ESN #
*8 5555 804 05 ESN #

Those are for the 4 wireless contacts and the motion sensor.

Then:

*8 5555 101 8 #
102 8 #
103 8 #
104 8 #
105 8 #

001 03 01 03 03 05 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00

As soon as the 16th zone entered, the arm light lit. so I just pressed # once.

I was back to the beginning as there was no wireless registered on the system.

I am really lost here. I wonder what have I done wrong here? May you let me know. Thank for your time and appreciate your patient.

Read more: http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...#ixzz2A9fbcoyu
 
  #18  
Old 10-23-12, 08:47 PM
LOCKtec's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NorthWest Ohio, SouthEast Michigan
Posts: 398
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
i think your programming the serial numbers incorrect

* 8 5555 804 01, XXXXXX (ESN) # , 02, XXXXXX (ESN) # , 03, XXXXXX (ESN) # , 04, XXXXXX (ESN) #, 05, XXXXXX (ESN) ##

you dont keep exiting or entering the 5555 (installers code) , or if you do- you need to enter ## between each ESN


above - the "X" is the 6 digit serial numbers, after each ESN hit the # one time, then zone number ( 2 digits ) then the next serial number

exit using # #
 
  #19  
Old 10-24-12, 02:34 AM
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Locktec, thanks for advise. I did do as follow:

*8 5555 804 01 ESN #
804 02 ESN #
804 03 ESN #
804 04 ESN #
804 05 ESN #
I noticed as soon as I hit the first digit of the ESN, I saw the 2 on the key pad then if I hit next digit there some other numbers showed such #1 and #2 then if the next digit is entered, other number are showed. and so on. I wonder if those number interfered with the ESN to be correctly entered.

Then:

*8 5555 101 8 #
102 8 #
103 8 #
104 8 #
105 8 #

001 03 01 03 03 05 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00

Hope you may help on that.

Thanks again for your time.
 
  #20  
Old 10-24-12, 06:05 PM
LOCKtec's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NorthWest Ohio, SouthEast Michigan
Posts: 398
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ok- iam not sure what your doing- you do not keep entering the 804

look at what i showed- 804 one time, then the zone number & serial number, # then next zone number & serial number, then # & .... on & on when your done with that enter ##
 
  #21  
Old 10-24-12, 07:13 PM
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi LOCKtec, thank you for got back to me. As your advise, I entered:

First:

*8 5555 804 01 ESN. For this first set of ESN, as 5555 entered the arm light lit, after 804 entered, the ready light lit then I entered 01 and the first ESN then #.

Second:

I entered the 02 for the second set of ESN, the arm light still lit until I ended of the second ESN the ready light lit as I hit # the arm light lit.

Third:

I continued with 03 but the ready light not lit and there were several bips as I entered the third ESN #.

Fourth:

with 04 entered the ready light lit and I entered its ESN #

Fifth:

05 entered the ready light lit and the ready light flash as I entered * for The hex number. After the ESN, I hit #.

With the arm light on I entered 101 8 #; 102 8 #; 103 8 #; 104 8 #; 105 8 #.

001 03 01 03 03 05 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ##.

Nothing has changed. There's no wireless registered as I open the doors. There was no sign of door is opened.

I might have done something wrong here. Hope you may have thought something else on this. Your time is greatly appreciated.
 
  #22  
Old 10-24-12, 08:17 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,327
Received 38 Votes on 37 Posts
Reading back through this whole thread, it suddenly struck me that nowhere in your list of hardware did you mention either PC5132-433 receiver or a RF receiver model keypad. The PK5516 is not a RF receiver model.

Do you actually _have_ a wireless receiver in this system?
 
  #23  
Old 10-25-12, 12:46 PM
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Ron, The system was working before until I saw some zone doors opened displayed on the keypad, and suspected that the wireless contacts batteries ran out, I purchased batteries and replaced them. After a day, the problem showed up again. I messed the program up that time.

With the door open displayed, I believed there was a receiver on it but I don't know which one is. May you help me how to find its model. Thanks for your time.
 
  #24  
Old 10-25-12, 03:20 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,327
Received 38 Votes on 37 Posts
The keypad model will be on a label on the circuit board if you take it off the mounting plate.

Honestly, I strongly suggest that you let a professional unscramble this egg. I suspect that you have made too many blind changes to your programming to easily correct short of a full default and reprogram _everything_ from scratch.

All we can do here, is provide you with links to the user and installer manuals and help you understand DSC's nomenclature and procedures, but you seem to have difficulty following along.
 
  #25  
Old 10-25-12, 04:00 PM
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Ron, Thanks a lot for your advise and your time.

All the best.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: