Ademco Vista - 20p remove zone from programing

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-29-12, 11:28 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ademco Vista - 20p remove zone from programing

I have a zone that is not working and I have to aways bypass I would just like to take it out of the programming for now. How can I do this?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-30-12, 12:01 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,217
Received 32 Votes on 31 Posts
Is the zone Wired or wireless?
 
  #3  
Old 10-02-12, 04:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The zone is hard Wired. Jason Goin
 
  #4  
Old 10-02-12, 07:28 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,217
Received 32 Votes on 31 Posts
The fast and dirty, no programming method is to remove the zone wiring from the zone input and replace it with a 2000 ohm resistor from zone to zone common.
 
  #5  
Old 10-02-12, 08:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for your help Mr. Ron I got it.
 

Last edited by jasongoin; 10-02-12 at 08:50 PM.
  #6  
Old 10-25-12, 10:26 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Couldn't you just delete the zone at the zone type prompt with 00 - - - *?
 
  #7  
Old 10-26-12, 04:37 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,217
Received 32 Votes on 31 Posts
If you have an alpha keypad (which a lot of existing Vista systems _do_not_) it's very easy to alter the zone programming; but for novices, it's easier and safer to mechanically bypass the hardwired zone.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: