Ameritech Security Link Vista 15P Red Armed Light

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-13-12, 04:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ameritech Security Link Vista 15P Red Armed Light

I got a panel from a guy down the street which is a Vista 15p panel with a SecurityLink Ameritech keypad (model might be 4109???). When I plug in the transformer the keypad beeps and the red armed light is solid. Nothing appears on the display. The keys beep when pressed but nothing appears on the screen. I've also tried the * # combination within 50 seconds but doesn't seem to have any effect. Is it possible this is locked by Ameritech and won't work? Can it be unlocked?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-13-12, 07:53 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,565
Received 510 Votes on 480 Posts
Ameritech is an Ademco product as is the Vista 15P panel. So that keypad may or may not be compatible with that panel. The keypad connects to the panel with four wires. Is that what you have done ? The panel being locked has nothing to do with the display. If the panel was locked the display would still read. That Vista panel may need a programming change done to recognize that keypad. Without the exact model of your keypad, I can't help you any further. MrRonfl....the forum mod might be able to shed more light on this matter.
 
  #3  
Old 10-14-12, 10:32 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, I connected the four wires according to a manual I had. Now not sure the manual matches the keypad. Since I have a Vista 15p should I buy a 6150 and try that first?
 
  #4  
Old 10-14-12, 11:32 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,565
Received 510 Votes on 480 Posts
Are you sure it's a working panel ? It would be a shame to buy a new keypad and then find out the panel has an issue.
 
  #5  
Old 10-14-12, 03:49 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,319
Received 38 Votes on 37 Posts
Where did you get the part number? Most Ademco design keypads have the model number on a label on the back of the housing, and stenciled on the edge of the circuit board. Any other numbers are the part numbers for the plastic housings.

When you power it up, try pressing 1 + 3 at the same time. It's possible that this keypad isn't set to a working keypad address. 16 _always_ works.

Try these instructions to see if you can get a working keypad address set:
http://site.geoarm.com/pdfs/Honeywel...tall-guide.pdf
 
  #6  
Old 10-15-12, 10:09 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks, I will try 1+3 when I get home today. How would I know if it was a working panel? Any quick tests?
 
  #7  
Old 10-15-12, 01:53 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,319
Received 38 Votes on 37 Posts
There'll be something displayed on the LCD when you press 1 + 3 withing 30 seconds of applying power if it's a working keypad.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: