Have Caddx NX 8 with I want to add to

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-02-13, 09:58 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Have Caddx NX 8 with I want to add to

I have a Caddx system installed in my home that I had installed when I had my home built ten years ago. I want to upgrade the system and make a few improvements. I've been contacting the original installer and a few other installers in the area for a month and know one will call me back. I'm handy and thinking of taking the job on myself. The installer code has never been changed so I can get into the system. I took a look at the manual online and it doesn't make much sense to me. My system is currently working fine and has a expander card installed with 16 zones used and a few more left open to use. I'd like to add a garage door sensor with enough time for me to open the door and disarm the system. Also would like to add a water sensor in the basement and a sensor that detects if it gets too cold in the house. I can hard wire all the sensors so I don't need any wireless device. The keypad I have is a NX-148e. Anyone know ho to program this into my system? Doesn't look like anyone local wants to do it.
 
  #2  
Old 01-03-13, 03:51 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,909
Received 123 Votes on 114 Posts
Actually, there's very little programming that you need to modify. You would only need to change the zone types for the zones that you are adding. By default those expander zones are already active as instant zones (zone type 6).

Read through the section of the manual titled "Programming the control". That's where the programming interface is actually explained. Then we can help with the parts you have trouble following...
 
  #3  
Old 01-04-13, 09:51 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, well i played with it a little bit and must say it's the manual is quite confusing. I was able to get it to programing mode. First, I entered *8, then I entered the user code of 9713. It then asked me for a device address and I believe I was to use 0#.. It then asked me for a location number. From the manual the zones I want to use (17-24) are in location 29 so I used that for a location. I figured out that the segments are the zones to program. Segment 1 is for zone 17 and segment 8 is for zone 24. Obviously segment 2 is zone 18 and segment 3 is 19 and the rest follow that sequence. Also, there is a 6 after each segment which is the zone type which is an instant zone by the chart. That's where I got lost. I still haven't wired the devices in yet. Going to wire everything up in the basement temporarily so I can try to get it to work. So what I'd like to do is use zone 17 for a low temperature switch which will be an instant zone type. I'd like to use zone 18 for a water sensor to detect a flood in the basement which will also be a instant type zone. Zone 19 will be used for an over head garage door switch which I will have to make have a delay to give the garage door enough time to go up or down and disarm the alarm. From what I can tell, the man door in the garage is set on zone type 3 which seems to have about a minute delay to get out, which should be sufficient for the overhead garage doors. Kind of confused after that and don't really no how to go further. Suggestions?
 
  #4  
Old 01-04-13, 11:31 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Forgot to ask does it matter if the switches are normally closed or normally open switches. The garage door switches are obviously normally closed. The other ones I'm not sure about yet. Have to look at the package.
 
  #5  
Old 01-04-13, 02:10 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,909
Received 123 Votes on 114 Posts
If you want the temperature and water alert to activate the siren and put the system into alarm, then yes, instant works just fine. If this is one of the original NX-8 models, you really don't have a lot of zone type choices:
http://download.homesecuritystore.co...ame=NX-8im.pdf

The newer NXV2 models have specific freeze and water zone types.

The programming syntax for these locations works like this:

*8 [installer code]
0#
29#
x*x*x*x*x*x*x*x* (x being the desired zone type for each zone, in order, & * being the "enter key")
 
  #6  
Old 01-05-13, 12:19 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
OK, I think I'm getting somewhere. I programed zone 17 to be a #2 zone type which will be the water sensor. I also programmed zone 18 to be a zone type #2 also for the low temperature sensor. I figure that will be best since it's the 24 hour audible that will set the siren off regardless if the alarm is armed or not. Probably a good thing for water in the basement or loss of heat. I set zone 18 to be zone type 9 which has a one minute delay which will be used for the overhead garage doors which should be sufficient. My next question is, my manual for the nx8 tells me nothing on how to name the 3 new zones I've created. Am I missing that info? What's the procedure for that programming?
 
  #7  
Old 01-05-13, 12:31 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,909
Received 123 Votes on 114 Posts
The NX series is modular, so the keypad has it's own instruction manual:
http://www.smarthome.com/manuals/79456_install.pdf.

The zone descriptions live in the keypad.
 
  #8  
Old 01-05-13, 02:31 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, I have that manual. Doesn't seem like the keypad will let me do anything to enter a name. I get into programming at location 29 and it starts me at where it reads location 29 segment 1 on the top line and 2 on the second line which is the zone type. Seems like it wont let me do anything but change the zone type and go to the different segments. The arrows don't do anything. Also, it looks like I'll need some more eol resistors for the zones I'm using and the ones I'm not. The installer left me 5 in the control box. Are these an alarm special part or can I get them anywhere?
 
  #9  
Old 01-05-13, 03:08 PM
G
Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,412
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You are trying to program the control panel...you need to program the keypad in order to do zone text. The default keypad address is 192...Do you have the 148E keypad manual?
 
  #10  
Old 01-05-13, 03:35 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes I do have the nx148e keypad. I don't see where it tells me to enter 192 in the keypad menu.
 
  #11  
Old 01-05-13, 09:50 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,909
Received 123 Votes on 114 Posts
When the prompt asks for the module to program enter 192# instead of 0# (the system considers the keypad to be a "module"; and the module addresses are in the appendix at the back of the NX-8 manual as well as at the back of the 148e manual)

Once you do that, the programming functions will be the ones for the keypad's manual.
 
  #12  
Old 01-06-13, 10:17 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This is what I did to try and program the keypad. First I entered *8, then followed by the program code 9713, the it asked me for a device number. Instead of 0#, I entered 192#, then it asked me for a location which I entered location 29 so I can assign names to my new zones 17-18. At that point it just goes to a screen that says enter location, then # (29). Is it possible that 192 is not the location of my keypad? I'd just like to assign the proper names to my new zones. My system is 10 years old and the manual I found from it is slightly different. Still haven't found where to use that 192 address.
 
  #13  
Old 01-06-13, 02:25 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,909
Received 123 Votes on 114 Posts
Is you keypad assigned to partition 1, keypad 1? If so, then the keypad address is 192.

In any case, try this instead:
From normal run mode:
*92

 Prompts to “Please Enter Your Code".
 [installer code]       
The LCD will now prompt you to enter message
number followed by #.
Zones 1 through 192 custom messages are
message numbers 1-192 respectively.
Message 193 - Custom message top line.
Message 194 - Custom message bottom line.
Message 195 - Shutdown message top line.
Message 196 - Shutdown message bottom line.

Use the instructions on page 5 of the 148e manual to enter the characters.
 
  #14  
Old 01-07-13, 04:45 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The *92 worked to program the zones. thanks!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: