Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electronic Home Security Systems, Alarms and Devices
Reload this Page >

How to install a wireless sensor to an existing system (DSC RFK5501 PowerSeries)

How to install a wireless sensor to an existing system (DSC RFK5501 PowerSeries)

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-09-13, 10:46 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How to install a wireless sensor to an existing system (DSC RFK5501 PowerSeries)

I already have "DSC RFK5501 PowerSeries LCD Keypad with Wireless" installed with few hard wired and few wireless. Since few days Zone 4 hard wired stopped working. Then I tried to muck with the hard wire and it fell off. So for the next few days I was setting the alarm by disabling alarm for zone 4 by typing in *1 04 #. Few mins ago, I think I was able to disable zone 4 totally by tying in *8 [installer code] 202 4 #. I bought a Wireless Door Window Sensor which I would like to add to the Zone 4.

Can someone point me to the instructions on how to install and test the wireless contact to the zone 4?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-09-13, 12:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I tried enrolling the wireless sensor by *8 [install code] 804 04 2600*61 (for 2600FA). Then when I test it *8 [install code] 904 04. "4" stays on.. I think I saw red light blink once or twice.. Any ideas what I should do next....
 
  #3  
Old 06-09-13, 12:33 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,175
Received 28 Votes on 27 Posts
If all that happened with the hardwired contact is that the switch or magnet fell off of the door/window, then all you really need to do is re-adhere or replace the contact. There's nothing convoluted or special about these; they are just a magnetically actuated reed switch.

Also, is this the only contact on that zone? If not, then you cannot simply mix in a wireless device among existing wired devices on the same zone.

Simple test for the hardwire loop: remove the contact from the end of the wire and twist the pair of conductors together. If the zone closes, then you just need a new switch and magnet.
 
  #4  
Old 06-09-13, 01:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the response. It works now with my new wireless sensor.. I had to enable the zone 4(*8 [installer code] 202...
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: