ADT Safewatch custom RF keypad malfunctioning

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-08-14, 08:09 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ADT Safewatch custom RF keypad malfunctioning

My parents have an old alarm system which works, but a couple of numbers on keypad is no longer working. The hand held device still works, but will not last forever. Trying to use the touch tone phone(not pulses) to arm and disarm, but it does not work. I located a replacement part for the touchpad, but not sure it is compatible with the old system. Is the 60-248-10-AD2 Caretaker Plus keypad completely interchangeable with the old system they have? I have photos of both if that helps? Thank you kindly for your assistance in advance! Any information is greatly appreciated.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-08-14, 11:24 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,678
Received 913 Votes on 853 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

The older caretaker systems were pulse dialing only and I'm pretty sure they don't respond to the commands from a touch tone phone.

If the touchpads are set up the same the replacement should work.
Pictures would be a help....... http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...-pictures.html
 
  #3  
Old 02-08-14, 02:00 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Name:  ADT Safewatch Custom RF.jpg
Views: 2494
Size:  18.1 KBName:  $(KGrHqRHJFUFJ,qQzUQyBSWzVICkh!~~60_57[1].jpg
Views: 2500
Size:  29.6 KBThank you for your response. I have included a photo of my parent's old keypad (ADT Safewatch Custom RF) as well as the replacement part which is the Caretaker Plus keypad. They look similar with some minor differences. Thanks Again!
 
  #4  
Old 02-08-14, 02:07 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,678
Received 913 Votes on 853 Posts
You just want to exchange the keypad part...... correct ?
That should work ok as the button nomenclature looks the same.
 
  #5  
Old 02-08-14, 06:38 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, we just want to change out the keypad to be able to use the wall mounted pad. Thank you so much for your expertise.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: