DSC 1832 new home owner no codes -help

Old 02-13-14, 12:08 AM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
DSC 1832 new home owner no codes -help

Hello I'd like to set up my alarm system and have many questions.

Currently I have an DSC 1832 system that does not have any codes- they were all lost, no installer codes either (*5555 does not work).
What's the best way to get the system working again? A)Default settings or B) install new board from ebay for $50? I'm a noob but fairly tech savvy.
If A) Is there only one North American version of the 1832? Do I need to match a version?
If B) all I need is the manual right?

If I upgraded the "simple" LCD panel to an led touchscreen display (if feasible) would it make the programming for a noob easier?

Please help.
Thanks
Ed

Sponsored Links
Old 02-13-14, 02:44 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 77 Votes on 73 Posts
It's going to be equal amounts of work to program from scratch, so it's worth trying a default before you buy new hardware. If it turns out to be installer lockout set, then get a replacement motherboard.

The 5500 LCD keypad will be much easier to program with than the 5501 fixed language display. The touchscreen keypad offers no special advantage.

Just get the most current version, they are all backward compatible.

Old 02-13-14, 10:15 AM
B
I will try to default first!
Turns out I already have LCD 5500Z keypad.
Many thanks- I really appreciate the help as this is the big hurdle before I move in.

Last edited by boenmoen; 02-13-14 at 12:12 PM.
Old 02-14-14, 02:10 PM
B
Default worked!
Thanks all. Now it's time to do the grueling programming.
All zones seem to be open and only 8zones but I noticed there's an ext board.
so I guess I'll need to program that in.
Luckily the installer left the layout sheet with zones in the box so I'll follow that.

Old 02-14-14, 10:48 PM
B
next step?

I've started reprogramming and finished only the zoning.
What should I do next? Partition?