Stay Mode Arming As Away

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-08-14, 02:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Stay Mode Arming As Away

I've almost got everything figured out with my DSC 1832 alarm. When I hold the stay button to arm it, the system appears to be arming in stay (doesn't beep) but after 60 secs it arms in Away mode. I have tried reprogramming the Stay button to "stay arm" using the programing codes ( *8 5555 000 1 03 # #) but it doesn't seem to work. When I enter 03 in the above string, it shows code 12 at the top of the display. Am I entering something incorrectly? Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-08-14, 02:52 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,239
Received 32 Votes on 31 Posts
If there's no audible countdown, then you are arming in stay mode. There is still an exit delay and still an entry delay. The only thing that changes is that any zones programmed as interior stay/away zones bypass in stay mode.

Are you trying to get it to arm in "instant" mode, with no entry delay?

The display of the programming is correct. It's binary math, with the zone numbers taking the place of the LEDs per the chart in the manual section on how to view programming. (1 + 2 = 3 in this case).
 
  #3  
Old 06-08-14, 03:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
My keypad screen has a place where "stay" would light up rather than "away", so I'm not sure why that wouldn't be happening after I hold the stay button to arm. I just armed it using the Stay button and one of my PIR sensors didn't activate an alarm, while another PIR did. So I guess I have 2 questions:
1) when I enter *8 5555 000 1 03 it displays 12 at the top, which is equivalent to *6 user functions. What does *6 do and why isn't it saving 03 instead (which is stay arm)?
2) Since one of my PIRs activated the alarm but not the other, I'd like to see how they are both programmed so I can set them to be the same. I don't understand what sequence I need to enter. For zone 4 for instance, what would the sequence be? *8 5555 001....?
Thanks!
 

Last edited by tgreen104; 06-08-14 at 03:49 PM.
  #4  
Old 06-09-14, 03:47 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,239
Received 32 Votes on 31 Posts
Look at the chart on page 9 of the manual for how to interpret the programming display: http://www.gargoylesecurity.com/Down...STALLATION.pdf.

it's not displaying a "12" it's displaying a 1 and a 2.

For programming the zones:
*8 [installer code] 001 xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx
(where xx is the 2-digit zone type for zones 1-16, in order)
 
  #5  
Old 06-09-14, 03:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Ron. I think the issue was I didn't have a zone setup properly to be bypassed in the first place...so it just went straight to Away mode.
Is there a way to review the zone definitions? I typed in the following to code my 8 zones:
*8 5555 001 01 03 05 05 03 03 03 03
When I hit *8 5555 001 and use the arrow keys to review the definitions, I get:
1 12 13 13 12 12 12 12

Any idea why those are appearing? That's not even close to what I'm entering. This is a DSC PC1832 and a PK5500 keypad. Thanks!
 
  #6  
Old 06-09-14, 03:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Binary..................... got it!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: