Honeywell Vista 20p will not see motion sensor

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-28-14, 06:11 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Honeywell Vista 20p will not see motion sensor

I have a Vista 20 p with a 6162 keypad. I just need to install 1 wired PIR sensor into a zone. I have wired zone 2 cause I think I saw on a youtube video that zone one is for fire, but it doesn't matter what I program I still get a fault and the alarm will not sound when set. I can not figure out what I am doing wrong. I have resistors in zone 1, zone 3-8. ???? I can wave my hand in front of the sensor it detects movement so I think that part works but it does not alarm it also has a fault so I either have something in it wired wrong or I am dead wrong in the programming of that zone.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-28-14, 01:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have cleared the fault but it doesn't matter it still does not alarm I have used 2 other PIRs but still the same no different. No matter what I program the zone as I either get a fault or it will allow me to set the alarm and it just sits there waiting for a the alarm to be triggered. It lets me set the alarm and it turns off I can change the delay exit and every thing else I just can not get the panel to alarm on the keypad or with the siren installed.Oh by the way this is a new panel I purchased Friday . I have used every zone from 1 to 8 and still the same problem. I guess I will call Honeywell Monday and see if maybe I got a bad panel. 150 views but no reply
 
  #3  
Old 06-28-14, 07:01 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,215
Received 32 Votes on 31 Posts
Did you install a 2k ohm resistor in series with the zone contact wires?
Does the device have power?
 
  #4  
Old 06-28-14, 11:39 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 603
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Are you sure it is not arming in stay mode?
 
  #5  
Old 06-29-14, 08:20 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes I have the resistor in series and it does have power. It shows it is armed but when I uncover the PIR and I can be detected it doesn't alarm.
 
  #6  
Old 06-29-14, 01:16 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,215
Received 32 Votes on 31 Posts
Are you waiting long enough for the exit delay to time out? It runs in all modes, including stay and instant.
 
  #7  
Old 06-29-14, 02:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
exit delay to time out yes I have waited
 
  #8  
Old 06-29-14, 05:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
i plan to call tech support at honeywell Monday
 
  #9  
Old 06-29-14, 05:43 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,215
Received 32 Votes on 31 Posts
Simple test:
Arm system
Take one leg off of the appropriate zone terminals on the system board
Does it alarm?
If yes, then your field wiring for the motion is done incorrectly.
If no, then your programming for the zone is done incorrectly.
 
  #10  
Old 06-30-14, 02:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Turns out the programming was wrong he told me to set the Pir as and exit entrance instead of a 4 or 10 and it alarmed.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: