Fault codes after sensor battery replacement

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-15-14, 07:45 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Fault codes after sensor battery replacement

I am trying to resurrect an Ademco Lynx alarm system. It has been inactive for about 7 years. A year ago it started beeping and gave a message that the system battery was low. I replaced the battery pack even though we weren't using the alarm.

Today I replaced all the 3volt batteries in the sensors and the two batteries in the remote. I am positive that I replaced all the batteries. Also, the alarm sounded a couple times when installing the new batteries. Using the disarm code or the remote control disarmed the alarm.

Now I am getting 3 different codes, 02 fault, 05 fault, 07 fault, and the green ready light is flashing. I thought those codes referred to sensors, but I have 6 sensors and getting an 07 fault doesn't make sense.

Is it possible that since the batteries were dead for so long the sensors may need to be reprogrammed?

Any suggestions? Thank you!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-15-14, 08:02 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,548
Received 409 Votes on 384 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I'm not 100% familiar with your panel but usually the first 8 zones are wired.
The wireless points would start at least past point 9.

That would mean that you have a problem with zones 2,5,and 7 and that has nothing to do with batteries.

Do you have a zone listing of all your wired and wireless sensors ?
 
  #3  
Old 07-15-14, 08:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm positive that all my sensors are wireless. There are no wired sensors.

My wife is looking for the manual. I remember seeing the zones listed on the manual. Now we just have to find it.
 
  #4  
Old 07-15-14, 08:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,548
Received 409 Votes on 384 Posts
In looking at the manual.... it looks like there are no hardwired sensors used with this system.

I believe you need to enter your code and press the OFF button twice to clear trouble codes from screen.
 
  #5  
Old 07-16-14, 12:00 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 603
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Possibly installer skipped a zone number during installation or removed one zone from the middle. If you can get into programming, I believe you should be able to access zone descriptors.

Make sure batteries are in correctly, lids are 'snapped' on and the device is in its normal position -- Then enter code +off, twice. Maybe power-cycle the system.

You should not have lost any programming on battery changes.
 
  #6  
Old 07-16-14, 06:24 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I tried entering my code plus off, but I did not try pressing off twice. I will try this when I get home from work today. I will also power cycle the system.

Thank you for the ideas!
 
  #7  
Old 07-16-14, 08:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I found the owners manual today and that solved my problems. Once a dead battery is replaced, you have to open and close the door and then the signal is sent that the sensor is working properly. Yesterday after I replaced the batteries, I did not open and close three entry points.

So the system is working correctly now.

Thank you for your help. Great website!
 
  #8  
Old 07-16-14, 08:25 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,548
Received 409 Votes on 384 Posts
Excellent... Thanks for letting us know the outcome.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: