No Master installer code

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-08-14, 08:18 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No Master installer code

System: DSC power832 PC5010 CP-01

System worked before but is dead now. Determined transformer OK but battery is dead and will be replaced. Plan to operate as Local mode with no monitoring but want siren and chimes to work when ARMED.

Steps to bring back up
- Plug in transformer and reconnect new battery then
- Try master codes *8 xxxx If unsuccessful
- Try to reset to factory defaults and reprogram
- If unsuccessful (or LOCKED), replace control board, move wires over, and reprogram.
Q1 If control board is bad, where to get best buy on PC 1832 Control board. Is this the right replacement board?
Q2 Any comments on this plan. New to security systems.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-12-14, 05:52 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Control Board Answer?? Is PC 1832 the right replacement board for DSC power832 PC5010 CP-01? Plan to replace battery 7AH tomorrow.
 

Last edited by hfuller; 09-12-14 at 06:01 AM. Reason: transformer replaced with battery
  #3  
Old 09-12-14, 06:12 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,331
Received 38 Votes on 37 Posts
Yes, the PC1832 is the current model equivalent.
 
  #4  
Old 09-14-14, 01:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
System: DSC power832 PC5010 CP-01
Keypads Locked. Original installer went out of business. Plan to replace control board with PC1832.

Q2 How do you add a siren to the set up.
 
  #5  
Old 09-14-14, 05:11 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,331
Received 38 Votes on 37 Posts
There should have been one in the original setup. Are there wires on the siren/bell terminals; or are you trying to add an additional one?

Simple test to see if you already have one (sometimes they are in the attic): connect a 12v battery to the siren wires. If you have one in working condition, you will be able to find it...

In either case, any 12v alarm siren, within the amp draw limit of your alarm control, will work just fine. There's no special configuration.
 
  #6  
Old 09-14-14, 06:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Owner says no siren was installed but there are a least 2 or more wires on the bell terminals. Will try putting 12 v from battery as you suggest.
Name:  100_0709.jpg
Views: 134
Size:  30.3 KB
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: