Ademco 4286 Phone Module Question


  #1  
Old 10-04-14, 04:21 PM
demetrax1's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 34
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Ademco 4286 Phone Module Question

Hello,

My name is Demetri Poulos. I have recently been looking into purchasing a 4286 Phone Module for system event annunciation on my Honeywell Ademco Vista 20P. However, I have VoIP Cox Digital Telephone Service here in SW Virginia, and I hear that the module needs a physical answering machine rather than an internet-based voicemail box for the telephone access/control function to work properly. So, for remote system control & alerts, I am purchasing an Envisalink EVL-3 Internet Alert Module. HOWEVER, I still want to purchase the 4286/4286VIP for system event annunciation. I have put great thought into this, and I have concluded that I do not need a voice keypad as I already have enough keypads in the system. I am leaning towards the way a GE Concord 4 system works, where voice annunciations come out of the speaker. So to sum it up, is there any possible way to use the 4286 as a standalone voice annunciator WITHOUT using the landline telco option?

Thanks, Demetri

(And I will purchase an Ademco 746 8Ω-OHM Speaker for use with the module. Plus, from my research, the module has a greater speaking vocabulary than the voice keypads. And, since the V-series keypads and the older Lynx family systems have the same voice, I assume that the 4286/4286VIP also have the same sounding voice.)
 
  #2  
Old 10-04-14, 04:26 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,183
Received 77 Votes on 69 Posts
Post approved. Welcome to the forums.

A pro will be with you shortly....
 

Last edited by lawrosa; 10-05-14 at 03:02 AM.
  #3  
Old 10-04-14, 09:46 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 17,593
Received 241 Votes on 220 Posts
Hmmm, as often happens, this is a pre-broadband derived telephony device, and how well it will work is something of a crapshoot. Installer manual: http://www.amsasecurity.com/files/Ad...one_access.pdf

You are correct, the online answering service won't let this thing work, because that intercept is done upstream of the phone wiring in the house. The voice annunciation is independent of the remote access feature, so as long as you can access the device for programming and configuration, that part should work.
 
  #4  
Old 10-05-14, 07:00 AM
demetrax1's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 34
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So, as long as I can connect this to my home phone for programming the voice annunciation should work? Can I wire it to a nearby wall phone jack in the room where it will be located?
 
  #5  
Old 10-05-14, 09:43 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 17,593
Received 241 Votes on 220 Posts
It' better if you wire it correctly into the phone lines as delineated in the installation instructions (does your existing configuration already connect to the house phone wiring?) Otherwise, just being connected to the phone lines should be enough for programming purposes.
 
  #6  
Old 10-06-14, 04:11 PM
demetrax1's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 34
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have a spare phone cable and a male phone jack connector so I should be good for programming then. Also, does the synthesized voice preloaded onto the 4286 should like that of the 6160v keypads and all other Honeywell voice keypads?
 
  #7  
Old 10-07-14, 05:11 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 17,593
Received 241 Votes on 220 Posts
As far as I know, it's the same audio chip (I personally find the synth voices they use for these somewhat grating, but they have their uses).
 
  #8  
Old 10-07-14, 12:04 PM
demetrax1's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 34
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks so much MrRonFL!

I actually prefer using the phone module rather than ANOTHER keypad just to have voice annunciation. (I already have enough) And as for telephony access in the home, all I have to do is have the module connected to any phone jack in the house, and when I want to access it, I just enter in the phone code from any touch-tone telephone in the house? (I'm assuming the reason it is said to "not work correctly with VoIP" is strictly for remote access via a physical answering machine.) Other than that, it's pretty much a standard phone line with touch-tone recognition so I theroetically should be able to use this for in-home access?

(For remote system access and notification of my Vista 20P, I will be purchading an Envisalink EVL-3 Internet Alert Module for use with my Apple iPad 2. So for remote access, I'm covered.)
 
  #9  
Old 10-08-14, 01:38 PM
demetrax1's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 34
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry, I realized i forgot to fully reply to your previous question. Yes, the Internet modem box that provides our telephone service has been DIY wired into the existing phone wiring in the house. When we moved here, the house had been wired for AT&T landline telephone service. When we got Cox, an Internet-based telephone service, the dealer told us we could not use the existing landline wiring. Instead, he stated that we must purchase a cordless phone and have the base station where the modem was to be located. A few years after that, I decided that I wanted to make the jacks live again. I wired the Telephone Out from the modem into the NID (Network Interface Device) box outside (disconnecting the old line from the street first) and VOILA!!!

Plus, if you're wondering, it's not that easy to run wire from where the 4286 is to be located to the NID. The panel is on an upstairs floor and the NID is out the window and down the side of the house. So I decided to wire it to the phone jack in the room where it will be located.
 
  #10  
Old 10-11-14, 11:27 AM
demetrax1's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 34
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Are you still there?

Ron, are you still there? I still need help before I buy the module. The phone line connection is too far away from the module for me to be able to connect it properly. I have a phone jack in the room where it will be located, and the installation instructions for summary of connections are pretty confusing.

Is it possible to connect it to the phone line for programming only? And then, when I'm done programming, can I disconnect it and use it as a stand-alone voice module?

Also, I need a detailed explanation on how to connect the module to the phone line via a nearby telephone jack WITHOUT an RJ31X jack.

A prompt reply would be appreciated.
 
  #11  
Old 10-11-14, 10:24 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 17,593
Received 241 Votes on 220 Posts
All I can suggest is for you to try it. This is so far outside the wiring standard that these are designed for, that there is no meaningful answer that I can provide. I've never tried to connect a device like this so far outside of the manufacturer's design spec.
 
  #12  
Old 10-12-14, 05:54 AM
demetrax1's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 34
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, thanks! I guess you're right, I'll just have to try it out! I'll reply to this thread if I have any more questions.
 
  #13  
Old 11-30-14, 06:54 PM
demetrax1's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 34
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cool It Worked!

Well MrRonFL (that rhymes) I finally did it! My phone module is up and running with a standard 8Ω Ohm ATW speaker. I wired it as previously stated, and can only control it from one phone (but that's ok! I just wanted it for voice annunciation anyway.) Pictures are included (if they load properly.) Thanks again for everything!Name:  image.jpg
Views: 1021
Size:  32.9 KBName:  image.jpg
Views: 1366
Size:  37.1 KBName:  image.jpg
Views: 1346
Size:  36.2 KBName:  image.jpg
Views: 879
Size:  23.5 KBName:  image.jpg
Views: 1002
Size:  23.5 KBName:  image.jpg
Views: 907
Size:  33.6 KB
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: