Is it possible to disable the countdown beep on one panel and not the other?

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-10-14, 10:09 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is it possible to disable the countdown beep on one panel and not the other?

I have two Ademco 320 P1 panels in my house (one at my front door, one in my garage). The problem is that I prefer to have the one upstairs beep but not the one in my garage because it annoys my tenant. From what I can tell, I can only disable it system wide. Is this true? Would it be possible to just disconnect the panel speaker downstairs?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-10-14, 10:47 AM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I don't see why you couldn't disconnect the speakers. It seems simple enough.
 
  #3  
Old 12-10-14, 10:47 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,642
Received 89 Votes on 83 Posts
You can disable the sounds on any keypad except the primary (#16 address).

Check the address on the keypad you want to silence by pressing 1 + 3 at the same time.

If the keypad address is 17:

[installer code] + 8 + 00
*190 1 1 (to disable entry/exit and arm/disarm sounds)
*99 to exit programming.

If it's 16, you will have to physically swap the two keypads (power down the system before you do this).

You have a Protection 1 version of a Vista 20p:
http://site.aesecurity.com/Manuals/v...mmingguide.pdf
 
  #4  
Old 12-10-14, 02:10 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I don't have the installer code since it was installed by my alarm company.

Is this something they can do remotely? I am trying to avoid a $ervice call if at all possible. Thanks you for your your guidance.
 
  #5  
Old 12-10-14, 02:23 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,003
Received 71 Votes on 64 Posts
Protection one usually will walk you through it on the phone. Helpedme several times when I had problem.
 
  #6  
Old 12-10-14, 03:18 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,642
Received 89 Votes on 83 Posts
It's possible that P1 has disabled local programming access, but not _usually_.
You can try to bootstrap into programming mode.


Retrieving Installer code
Nearly all Ademco family (this includes First Alert, Security Link, and several ADT models) panels can retrieve the Installer code by disconnecting the battery, then the AC power. Wait a minute, then reconnect power in the opposite order. Within 50 seconds, on any keypad press * + # at the same time. Unless the system has had an installer lockout feature activated, the panel should go into program mode. The details by system will vary, but the programming section number that shows on the display will be the location for the installer code (on _most_ panels this will be 20). Key in # and the location number, and the panel will read back the installer code one digit at a time. Exit program mode using *99.
- See more at: http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el....CaMB9jMz.dpuf
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: