Connecting two 260-co detectors

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-30-14, 06:59 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Connecting two 260-co detectors

Can anyone provide assistance connecting two 260-co carbon monoxide detectors? The instructions are clear on how to connect three, but there are connections from the first and the second detectors to the third. Confusing to me.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-30-14, 07:19 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,513
Received 1,030 Votes on 956 Posts
Are you putting two sensors on one zone ?
Better to put them on two zones if you have a spare available.
 
  #3  
Old 12-30-14, 07:22 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unfortunately I only have one zone available. I am replacing two 240-co detectors that are wired in tandem on that zone.
 
  #4  
Old 12-30-14, 07:34 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The 240-co's were simple: + to +, Gnd-Gnd, Com-Com and NO-NO with an EOL resistor bridging the NO and COM on the second unit.
 
  #5  
Old 12-30-14, 08:10 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,513
Received 1,030 Votes on 956 Posts
The only problem with that method is that the units weren't truly supervised. That's why the change in wiring. Now you'll need an additional conductor between the two detectors for a total of five.

Name:  260_2.jpg
Views: 419
Size:  31.0 KB

The red and black are power. The gray and blue are your zone wires. If you notice.... the NC switches just form a loop that is connected across the zone wires.
 
  #6  
Old 12-31-14, 05:53 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Helpful diagram. I'll need to run another wire it seems. (Is there no way around that?) I notice the EOL resistor is on the first unit. On my other devices (heats, smokes) it is on the last unit in the series. Does it matter? Does the green wire bring the loop back to the first device?
 
  #7  
Old 12-31-14, 08:00 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,513
Received 1,030 Votes on 956 Posts
The loop goes thru both units so the resistor can go at either unit. There really isn't an end of line. The resistor basically supervises the loop.
 
  #8  
Old 12-31-14, 04:43 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Got it. Thanks so much for the help.
 
  #9  
Old 12-31-14, 10:37 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 603
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I believe you can get the same effect by running one leg of the alarm circuit through the N/C relays and putting the EOL on the N/O relay of the second ℅ detector -- that way you don't need the extra wire.

[Or possibly running a leg of the power through the N/C relay -- if the N/O relay changes state w/o power].
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: