Moose Z1000-e lightning damaged, need a modern replacement

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-13-15, 10:44 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Moose Z1000-e lightning damaged, need a modern replacement

Is there a replacement to my Moose that someone here can recommend? I have about 50 windows and doors.
BTW, I installed an ademco Vista alarm in my shop and have been happy with it so far.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-13-15, 03:04 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,209
Received 30 Votes on 29 Posts
If you have already worked with a Vista; then the Vista 20p will probably work just fine for you. How many zones are these 50 openings divided up into?
 
  #3  
Old 01-13-15, 03:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
MrRonFL;

There are 34 zones.
 
  #4  
Old 01-13-15, 07:33 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,209
Received 30 Votes on 29 Posts
Wow! That moose must have a stack of zone expanders on it...

Well, you can have up to 40 hardwired expander zones on the V20p, so that would work. You would have to add 4-5 zone expanders (they add 8 at a time).

For that many zones, a NX-8 or NX-8e might be a better choice. You would need zone expanders, but not as many (NX zone expanders add up to 16 at a shot). The installation and configuration would be a bit more of a learning curve.
 
  #5  
Old 01-13-15, 08:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Let me look into the NX-8E Thanks.
 
  #6  
Old 01-23-15, 06:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I purchased an Ademco Vista 20P, hooked up all the wiring, 3 Keypads, 5 motion detectors, 2-4 wire smoke alarms and other Positive and negative wires to Posts 1&2. When I powered the system up, there's a beep coming from the keypad, the keypad doen't light up or beep when when the buttons are pressed.

Could there be too much current draw?
 
  #7  
Old 01-24-15, 03:21 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,209
Received 30 Votes on 29 Posts
Possibly. The general rule of thumb: for initial power up, hook up the system with just the keypads and all of the zones dummied off with the resistors. Do your setup, then start connecting other devices. That way if you have a bad field device (especially after a lightning incident), you have fewer variables to sort thru.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: