Alarm Screen Installation on Simon XT


  #1  
Old 07-21-15, 03:32 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Alarm Screen Installation on Simon XT

I have a Simon XT alarm system through one of the big monitoring services. I want to install a couple of alarm screens and the cost they are quoting me is very high. So I found a company that will manufacturer the screens for me (they are a major supplier to the large companies). My question is how to integrate the screen into the wireless transmitter.

The alarm screen will have
"A 2-wire pluglead connector with gold-plated contact pins for maximum electrical conductivity and corrosion resistance. Connects via hardwire or wireless transmitter."

My guess is that I will need to connect the lead wire from the pluglead connector directly into the wireless transmitter to achieve continuity?

How might I do that and once that is done do i need to additionally program the control panel to sense this alarm screen/wireless transmitter vs the little magnet that affixes to the door currently. My intuition tells me that as long as their is continuity than the control panel "does not care" if it is the wireless transmitter/ magnet or wireless transmitter/alarm screen. We are using the same wireless transmitter...

Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 07-21-15, 06:44 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 17,596
Received 241 Votes on 220 Posts
You would need the installer code so you can go into programming to change that transmitter's settings to use the external input instead of the built in reed switch.

Installer manual: http://www.alarmhow.net/manuals/UTC/...%20Rev%20A.pdf

http://www.uscellular.com/uscellular...tallManual.pdf
 
  #3  
Old 07-23-15, 05:39 AM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you.

Can I wire the lead directly into the existing wireless transmitter that is currently using the reed connector (and then program the change) or do I need a different wireless transmitter?
 
  #4  
Old 07-23-15, 06:27 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 17,596
Received 241 Votes on 220 Posts
Yes, you can change the existing transmitter to use the external contact instead of the built in reed switch.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: