Concord 4 - no master codes SOLVED

Old 08-07-15, 12:23 PM
Concord 4 - no master codes SOLVED

Like many of you, I recently purchased a home with a Concord alarm system that had been disconnected (unmonitored) and the original owner did not provide a master code. Without that, your alarm system is toast. I am a computer forensics professional and a cracker so I applied those skills to the problem and was able to come up with a solution that anyone can use, at a cost of about $8.00.
The Concord system (4 in my case) comes with a EEPROM chip that holds all of the codes and system details. Simply powering it down does nothing and shorting the chip's leads may (will) destroy it. Do this::NO NO NO: Watch what you are doing with the chip! There is an index dot on one end, that shows how to orient the chip in it's socket. Make sure you note where that index dot was on your board - before you pull the chip!
Carefully remove the chip with a chip puller (it is not soldered). Mount the chip to an EEPROM reader/writer (about $8 on Ebay), read the chip's memory (32K bytes) and save it to a file with a ".bin" suffix for later use. Using a hex reader (the data is all in hexadecimal) you will be able to locate the the master code at &H03E2 written as two hex digits that are human readable (i.e. 12 34). The user codes, if any, begin at &H0100. They are two bytes long and each is separated by an "FF" (23 45 FF 67 89). If you need the factory code for some reason, it is located at &H16E6 (x123 FF 4567).
I suggest you DO NOT change the codes on the chip, for safety reasons. Carefully replace the chip in the system, With the index mark in the proper position! Power it up normally, and use the master code you found to properly change codes or do whatever your heart desires.

Sponsored Links
Old 09-16-15, 05:15 PM
Is there a location for the actual dealer/installer code?