ipdatatel CAT CDMA on nx8v2/148E-RF not arming and disarming

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-08-15, 10:44 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ipdatatel CAT CDMA on nx8v2/148E-RF not arming and disarming

Just bought ipdatatel CAT CDMA and wired it to my alarm system.
GE CAT-CDMA
Ring Location 1 ring
Tip Location 2 tip
Aux power - Location 3 neg
Aux power + Location 4 pos
Zone 7 COM Location 5 pgm Key switch option
Zone 7 Location 8 Key switch option

Resistor between location 5 and 8 on CAT CDMA

I receive event notifications if alarm goes off, but not able to arm or disarm. When I took resistor off location 5 and 8 on CAT CDMA, it reported as a sensor problem on Zone 8 of my alarm system even though the resistor was located on Zone 7. Need help. Did the programming on keypad as per instructions, but suspect Zone 7 is somehow paired with Zone 8 my fire alarm zone. Before starting, Zone 7 on alarm only had a resistor located on it going from Zone 7 to COM.
This is how I did the keypad program:
*8
my 4 digit code
0#
0#
15*
1*5*5*5*5*5*5*5*#
1#
1*2*3*4*#
2#
13*#exit, exit
Then I did,
*8
my 4 digit code
0#
25# went to zone 7 and entered 11
Location 47 Segment 1: 21
Location 47 Segment 2: 0
Thanks, Ron
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-08-15, 08:19 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,204
Received 30 Votes on 29 Posts
What were the actual keystrokes you used to try to set zone 7 as a keyswitch zone?

It should have been *8 [installer code]
0#
25*
* * * * * * 11* *

(this keeps the data in the existing zone programming unchanged, but changes zone 7 to keyswitch zone.

Hmmm...A careful reading of the instructions for he ipdatel unit (https://ipdatatel.com/downloads/M-IP...072315.1.1.pdf), I think that the unit may intend for you connect the your "PGM" terminal to the Aux 1 terminal on the NX panel. In that case the wire going from terminal 8 to the zone 7 input should have the resistor between it and COM.

Never installed one of these, and the instructions are both very specific, and very generic.
 
  #3  
Old 08-09-15, 10:17 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
MrRon,
Keystrokes for zone 7
0#
25# (I did the pound key here)
******11**exit.
Just tried hooking up pgm terminal 5 on cat cdma to auxoutput 1 and I put the resistor between Zone 7 and COM. Still not arming or disarming.
It beeped when I took resistor off between Zone 7 and COM. When I went to my event log it is reporting as Zone 8 sensor problem and not Zone 7 where I took resistor off. MrRon thank you for helping me. I tried calling ipdatatel and they will not talk with me. Should tip and ring be connected to Telco T and Telco R or Telco T1 and Telco R1? Was auxoutput 1 where you wanted me to connect pgm terminal 5 to? Thanks, Ron
 
  #4  
Old 08-09-15, 10:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The event log on the ipdatatel website. So my cat cdma is communicating with it. On my local keypad at the house, when resistor is off of Zone 7, it faults as Zone 7. But on the ipdatatel web event log it is faulting as zone 8.
Event Log
Event Log : Index





Search From: Date selector To: Date selector Event Type
Received System Signal SIA Code Partition Extra Zone/User
2015-08-09 10:50:23
(E380)
Sensor trouble 01 Zone 008
2015-08-09 10:50:17
(E380)
Sensor trouble 01 Zone 008
2015-08-09 10:50:07
(E380)
Sensor trouble 01 Zone 008
2015-08-07 12:47:54
(E380)
Sensor trouble 01 Zone 008
2015-08-07 12:47:50
(E380)
Sensor trouble 01 Zone 008
2015-08-07 12:36:36
(E131)
Perimeter 01 Zone 004
 
  #5  
Old 08-09-15, 11:49 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,204
Received 30 Votes on 29 Posts
Yes, it should have been 25# (typo).

Ok, simple and basic test. Put just the resistor between zone 7 and COM. Use a wire jumper to short from 7 to COM. Does the system arm and disarm when you repeat the short? If so, then you have the zone input programmed correctly, and your problem is in the connection and/or configuration of your ipdatatel device.

The Telco connection should be on the ring and tip terminals. The R1/T1 are the terminals that return the dialtone to the house lines when wired for a normal line seizure configuration.
 
  #6  
Old 08-09-15, 12:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Jumping between Zone 7 and COM arms and disarms house alarm. Attached are pictures of the wiring. Someone said something about putting the resistor between cat cdma terminal 4 (positive) and terminal 5(pgm), but that gave me a fault in zone 7 on my alarm and it was beeping. Thanks for trying to help me.
Name:  IMG_6505.jpg
Views: 723
Size:  39.4 KB
Name:  IMG_6506.jpg
Views: 929
Size:  43.0 KB
 
  #7  
Old 08-09-15, 06:34 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,204
Received 30 Votes on 29 Posts
The way they show the wiring diagram for the NX configuration leads me to think that the zone and PGM is acting as a contact closure. What has me confused is why they are bothering to have you program the AUX-1 connection on the NX panel, but showing no connection for it.

Your NX programming looks correct; but I suspect you will need to have some quality time with the tech support guys for your communicator unit.
 
  #8  
Old 08-10-15, 08:12 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
MrRon,
Under the generic alarm on page 13, it states,
"A programmable output on the alarm panel will be used to signal
to the Product (PGM Terminal 5) that the panel has entered Arm/Disarmed state. I wonder if this is what AuxOutput1 is meant to communicate with? If so, how?
Thanks, Ron

Generic Alarm Panel Wiring and Programming
For basic Key-Switch operation with the Cellular CAT, the
following alarm panel wiring is needed.
 A programmable output on the alarm panel will be used to signal
to the Product (PGM Terminal 5) that the panel has entered
Arm/Disarmed state.
 The zone (Terminal 8) output on the Product will be used as a
Key-Switch connecting to a ‘zone’ terminal on the alarm panel.
 
  #9  
Old 08-10-15, 11:29 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,204
Received 30 Votes on 29 Posts
The Aux output is a programmable sink (it connects to ground when activated by programming). The programming they gave you activates AUX-1 whenever the system is in the Armed state.

Basically, their diagram doesn't seem to be matching up with their text.
 
  #10  
Old 08-10-15, 02:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ipdatatel will not speak with me, only vendors and installers. I wonder if I should place a wire from AuxOutput 1 to terminal 5 as well as have a wire go from terminal 5 to COM. Maybe it functions in a capacity via the CAT-CDMA as a jumper between Zone 7 and COM.
Thanks
 
  #11  
Old 08-10-15, 02:55 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,204
Received 30 Votes on 29 Posts
Try just one wire from the CAT CDMA terminal 8 to the zone 7 terminal, leaving the resistor from zone 7 to COM (all of the COM terminals on the NX panel are electrically common, so the power common may be doing double duty.)

Then do one conductor from zone 5 (PGM) to Aux 1.

Sorry, that's the best I can come up with. Looks to be an interesting cellular communicator; but you may need whoever sold it to you to provide you with some functional tech support.
 
  #12  
Old 08-10-15, 06:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
MrRon,
Did not work. Tech support via the vendor told me to put a resistor between Zone 7 and COM,
CAT CDMA terminal 5 wire to AuxOutput 1, and put a resistor on CAT CDMA terminal 4 to 5. Did not work either.
I checked the voltage on AuxOutput1 to COM and it is 13.6 with the alarm off, with the alarm on it goes to 0.6.

Thanks again,
Ron
 
  #13  
Old 08-11-15, 06:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
My alarm system seems to communicate via the ipdatatel. When I arm it on the keypad, it shows on the website system is unarmed and when I disarm it on my keypad it states on website system is armed. The opposite of what it actually is.
Any thoughts?
Thanks, Ron
 
  #14  
Old 08-11-15, 07:54 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,204
Received 30 Votes on 29 Posts
Based on the voltage test, you may have the output programmed as "inverted".

In programming location 46 is option 6 on (in segment 1)? If so, it should be off, instead.

Do you have the installer manual: http://www.interlogix.com/_/assets/l...n%20Manual.pdf
 
  #15  
Old 08-12-15, 07:50 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Could you take me through the keypad steps to change it, "un" invert it.
*8
Device 0#
Location 46# Below is a picture of what it shows after. Pressing the * is just changing the Segment number 1, then 2, then 3, then 4.
Name:  IMG_6514.jpg
Views: 656
Size:  29.6 KB
 
  #16  
Old 08-12-15, 10:44 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,204
Received 30 Votes on 29 Posts
It's not inverted (in programming, at least) If it was, the number 6 would be visible in the line dashes (it's a toggle. Pressing the option number turns it on and off, as per the "how to program" section of the installer manual). I think that the problem is more likely with your CAT CDMA unit's configuration...

Try turning option 6 on and see if you get the desired result.
 
  #17  
Old 08-12-15, 12:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
MrRon,
Turning option 6 on makes it report correctly online and on the ipdatatel securesmart app. When alarm is armed by me at home, it states armed online and on app. Unarmed reports as unarmed.
Only way it reports is if wire from terminal 5pgm is wired to auxoutput1, so does not follow manual instructions. I can't make sense of it. I wonder if the ipdatatel app is just not good?
Ok so this was the latest that I tried per ipdatatel's recommendations to vendor to me.
nx8v2 CAT CDMA
Ring Term1ring
Tip Term2tip
Aux- Term3neg
Aux+ Term4pos
Auxoutput1 Term5pgm
Zone7 Term8
Further,
Told me to put a resistor between Zone 7 and COM on nx8v2 panel and to put a resistor on CAT CDMA terminal 4pos to terminal5pgm. Did not know what size, so I used a 3.3k at each location because that is what was on the panel between Zone 7/com before I started anything.
This did not work.
Thanks for trying to work with me. Any thoughts on helping remedy it?
Ron
 
  #18  
Old 08-12-15, 01:54 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,204
Received 30 Votes on 29 Posts
I'm thinking that your CATCDMA and it's app may not be fully ready for prime-time; at least in terms of tech support. You should only need the single 3.3K resistor on the zone 7 loop. The Aux output doesn't need a resistor, unless the CAT unit needs one.
 
  #19  
Old 08-12-15, 11:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I agree with you. Wish I could move forward and get it working. May just be the app...
Thanks for all your time MrRon,
Ron
 
  #20  
Old 08-13-15, 08:33 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
MrRon,
My tip and ring may not be activated. When I discontinued service years ago, the alarm company had me go through the keypad to program something to turn off phone or something. How can I make sure this is turned on or working?
Thank you,
Ron
 
  #21  
Old 08-13-15, 10:30 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,204
Received 30 Votes on 29 Posts
Programming location 2
When you programmed it as a 13, that turned the communicator on.
 
  #22  
Old 08-13-15, 12:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
MrRon,
Would you mind educating me on what tip an ring does, what auxoutput1 does? I know Zone 7/Com turns on and off the alarm with jumping it. Trying to better understand it so that maybe my son could help me troubleshoot it tomorrow. Thanks,
Ron
 
  #23  
Old 08-13-15, 01:32 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,204
Received 30 Votes on 29 Posts
Tip and ring are the telephone connections (red and green in traditional phone wiring).

The Aux outputs are just programmable grounds that are intended to activate things like external relays, LED's, etc.
 
  #24  
Old 08-17-15, 09:11 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just an update for those interested or that may come across this issue. Ipdatatel tells me it is a problem on their end with the CAT CDMA. They will fix the problem or replace the CAT CDMA with a BAT CDMA. Will keep you posted. Once I get it up and working, will post the exact "how to do it" on this site.
 
  #25  
Old 09-02-15, 06:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
MrRon,
Should have my BAT CDMA this week, but wanted to run something by you. Zone 7 had only a resistor connected to it Zone 7 to COM before starting all of this installment of the CAT CDMA. When I unwired it to send back, did not put resistor back between Zone 7 to COM. Tonight when my daughter had her window open, the keypad stated fault Zone 7, when I closed her window it went away. I put the resistor back on Zone 7 to COM, opened my daughter's window and now it is displaying it correctly as Zone 5 bedroom window. Any thoughts or concerns? Why without the resistor (Zone 7 to COM) was it reading bedroom window fault as Zone 7.Thanks, Ron
 
  #26  
Old 09-03-15, 04:57 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,204
Received 30 Votes on 29 Posts
Without seeing your physical wiring, it's hard to tell. You may simply be seeing multiple open zones, and that was the one at the top of the list.
 
  #27  
Old 09-03-15, 05:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
up and working, but read out armed vs unarmed is wrong.

MrRon,
Got the ipdatatel BAT CDMA up and working. Only issue is that when it is armed, showing unarmed on my phone and when it is unarmed, showing armed. Went to location 46 and turned the 6 off that we had turned on previously, but still not reading out correctly. BAT CDMA connects to Data, tip and ring and power +/-. Any suggestions? Ron
 
  #28  
Old 09-04-15, 04:24 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,204
Received 30 Votes on 29 Posts
Location 46 only affects the programmable output terminals, which you are not using for this configuration.

Looking at the Ipdatatel manual: https://ipdatatel.com/downloads/M-IP...072315.2.2.pdf

This version is supposed to be reading the keypad data, so if the result is getting inverted, it's being done by the ipdatatel hardware/firmware.
 
  #29  
Old 09-04-15, 07:36 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
OK all is good. BAT CDMA is up and working. The app is working. Thanks for all your help. Will open new post with how to instructions on installing ipdatatel BAT CDMA. Can arm and disarm your alarm from iphone, receive an automated call, text and email if your alarm goes off. Look for new thread with install instructions.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: