GE/ Caddx NX6 V2 is acting strange

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-22-15, 04:03 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Latvia
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unhappy GE/ Caddx NX6 V2 is acting strange

At first, greetings to all members in this forum. English isnt my native language but i will try to describe my problem as well i could.


Some weeks i bought a brand new set of CADDX NX6 V2 security panel. Panel, power conveter, keypad.

So i added keypad, resistors to zones, ac coverter, everything is good so far.



At first i have programm / service light instant on. by pressing *;2 it lights up 1 and 8 in keyboard. I figured out, 8 is system date, must be reset after every power loss. so what does 1 indicates?

At second, when i remove a resistor from panel, for example zone 3, keyboard starts beeping and number 3 lights on. When i put resistor back, system doesnt restore the zone and i can disable keyboard beeping only with entering default password 1234

Also the numer 3 keeps blinkink as indicating the zone was troubled. It goes away only if i go into programming mode and back.

I guess normally it should light up the zone when resistance is gone and put it back on when system is not armed.

Did i accidentally had set up all zones in 24h mode like for smoke detectors?


* I figured out *;2 indicated 1 and then 2 was no resistor to bell. so the 8 is only left - a system date.

Biggest problem is - board doesnt respond to *;5; master code; - should be a user code programm mode, and the service should blink - it doesnt reacts at all

Also same with reset to default factory settings - *;9;6; master code it should reset the panel, again im having trouble with that.

Programm mode - *;8;9731 works like beauty. I guess i messed up with assigning keyboard to panel and segment permissions - im not allowed to set user codes, also i doubt my master code is right. by default it should be 1234, i can arm and disarm system with that but nothing else.

So the problems are -


* Zones acts like 24h mode
* I cannot set the date
* I cannot set user passwords
* I cannot do a factory defaults



Any help ?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-22-15, 09:28 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,167
Received 25 Votes on 24 Posts
Since you have a working installer code, enter the following:

*8 [installer code]
0#
43#
press 4 to turn on option 4 (sets installer code to work as a master code)
Press * twice
Press the [exit] key twice to exit programming

Now you can use the installer code for *5 to change the master code (user code 01)

After you use this trick; go back into programming, and change the installer code setting back (it's not a good idea to make a habit of using the installer code as a master code) by repeating the steps.
 
  #3  
Old 08-22-15, 11:01 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Latvia
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi MrRonFL,
Thanks for advice
I already have done this, no results. Still cant access the User code / date setup.
So i guess theres nothing wrong with the installer code as i thought.

How can i get to see my keypad is adressed? As there's only one of it connected it should be Nr. 0
 
  #4  
Old 08-22-15, 11:15 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Latvia
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So, step by step -

*;8;Installer = Exit, Bypass, & others on, service blinking = in programm mode
0# = Armed status lights on, service blinking
43# = Ready status lights on, service blinking
4 already is lighted
*x1 = shows 12345678 lighted
*x2 = armed, service blinking
exit, exit = back to normal mode

next

*;5;9713 = nothing happens
 
  #5  
Old 08-22-15, 07:37 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,167
Received 25 Votes on 24 Posts
Yes, check the keypad address: *94 program code. The correct entry for the first keypad is 1*1 (keypad 1 partition 1).



Installer manual: http://www.interlogix.com/_/assets/l...n%20Manual.pdf


All of the other steps look correct. If you have the keypad set to the wrong partition, that might be the issue.

Otherwise, if this is a used system, there are settings possible with the downloader software to make the master code not changeable (almost never used, in my experience, but the option exists).
 
  #6  
Old 08-23-15, 01:37 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Latvia
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
*;9;4;installer = 1 ligts up, instant and service are blinking
*x1= 1 still lights up, instant goes stedy, service blinking
*x2= exit back to normal mode

so i guess theres everything ok with my keypad addressing 1;1


umm, did i figured out right, that keypad programming and panel programming are two separated things? - user codes are programmed and stored in keypad not in the panel memory? Or am i wrong?
 
  #7  
Old 08-23-15, 02:02 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Latvia
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Note:
Any master arm/disarm code can add or change a user code if the master
code has access to the same partitions as the code be
ing added/changed.
Consequently, when programming the user codes for a partitioned system, leave
at least one code (can be go to program code if enabled in Location 43) access
to all partitions or you will not be able to add new users.
If you want the end
user
to be able to add new codes, you must remove the partition authority from all
blank
codes
[/QUOTE]
 
  #8  
Old 08-23-15, 08:19 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,167
Received 25 Votes on 24 Posts
No. User codes are stored in the system programming. The keypads are just an interface.

However, remember that the _master code_ (1234 by default) and the installer/programming code (9713 by default) are two different functions.

Clearly, you are either skipping a step, or adding a step trying to change this code.

If the default master code arms and disarms, any of the master code based commands, like code change and time/date should be working.

There's no secret procedure for this. If you key in those sequences just as they are written out in the user manual, you should be able to use/change the master code as intended.
 
  #9  
Old 08-23-15, 09:08 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Latvia
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Suddenly i remembered, seller said this panel comes from RMA.

- i wanted to buy an NX4, they were out of stock at the moment, so i was going to buy NX8 then and seller offered me NX6 as he said its coming from RMA.

Im going to send panel back to seller to being tested, cause after all it sounds just like a faulty panel.

There's nothing i do wrong. -

i can set Installer code as Master code and back - tested
Factory reset makes no change, and so on

maybe after RMA there's just a corrupted firmware on panel.


- will reply here after i get some news from seller.
 
  #10  
Old 10-05-15, 12:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Latvia
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hello there

Finally i got my panel back today.


Yep. it was a buggy system software after RMA. Seller confirmed that and apologized for inconvenience.

Everything works fine now!
 
  #11  
Old 10-14-15, 10:02 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Latvia
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hello again,

As im reading programming manual, i understand so far that this panel can give only 12V+ or 12V- on Aux Out?

What i was looking for was NC/NO type Aux Outs to be programmed.

Of course i can add 12V relay to get things done, just wondering if this panel is limited to Aux Out only in voltages?
 
  #12  
Old 10-14-15, 04:57 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,167
Received 25 Votes on 24 Posts
The programmable outputs are (normally) switching grounds that you can use to operate an external 12V relay.
 
  #13  
Old 10-19-15, 03:09 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Latvia
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hello, have a nice day to all of you.

So i added an external 12V relay to panel aux outs and Aux(+) to activate my GSM module wich operates on NO/NC type zones.

Works brilliant. Now i get an sms and call to my cell phone every time alarm is triggered.


So, im going to break in my brain in panel programming at all.
For exampe i want to switch off panel beeping when alarm is triggered.

Its located in Cell #39 (Keypad beeper control) segment 1, option 5

So i go - *8 9713 0# 39# 1# ?

or i must enter the Cell 39 value in binary data?

Im trying to understand the principle of programming, once i will get it there will be no problems further.
 
  #14  
Old 10-19-15, 04:54 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,167
Received 25 Votes on 24 Posts
No, options are toggles. If you are in an option programming location, to turn on or off option 5, you would press the 5 key, then press * to save the selection.


In any case, that's the wrong location for what you are trying to do.

Location 39, option 5 is for the sounder for the cross-zone feature.

If your are trying turn off the entry/exit sounder, that's in the keypad setup (*93). However, doing so, also turns off the chime feature. See page 9 of the installer manual.
 
  #15  
Old 10-19-15, 11:37 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Latvia
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi MrRonFL

Thanks for your reply.

But it looks like you did not understand what im trying to get.

I want to digest the basics of programming the panel.

Ok i got wrong with that cross-zone sounder but the idea stays the same.

I got everything by turning options on or off and storing them.
_________________________

what i want to understand is how to enter in a specific location (Cell) and region

for example - i need to get in panel programming cell 56 segment 1 where options are stored (just for a reason, even this location doesnt exist in real life)

what do i do? Do i need to enter cell value 56 in binary code? ( buttons 4+5+6 )= (8+16+32) ?
 
  #16  
Old 10-20-15, 02:46 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,167
Received 25 Votes on 24 Posts
*8 [installer code] to enter programming
0# (panel programming)
39# (Go to location 39. You will start at segment 1)
If you have a LED keypad the LEDs will indicate which option is toggled on.
If you have a LCD keypad it will display a row of numbers 1-8 to indicate which options in the segment are on.

Toggle on/off the option(s) you want, then press * as the enter key to store the change and move to the next segment. Some programming locations have only one segment, others have as many as 8.

See pages 13-15 of the installer manual, for more exacting detail on how to enter both option data and numerical data.
 
  #17  
Old 10-21-15, 06:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Latvia
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Finally, finally i understood that binary values are only for timers in seconds, numeric values in cell to be stored etc.
And not for selecting Cell number to operate.

Gosh, such a simple thing i couldnt understand by reading Manual...


I've done much more complicated things in IT but this was just like a ***ing mind bug - you are searching for your glasses already put on...
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: