Can I Remove or Move to a new location the Alarm system box?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-20-15, 07:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 13
Can I Remove or Move to a new location the Alarm system box?

My dilemma is that I moved into a new home a few years ago and from the start we felt the entrance would be a lot nicer if we got rid of the coat closet. Trouble is the coat closet houses the Main DSC alarm, a connection box as well as a secondary smaller box ( looks like wireless for the belt panic buttons ) not sure. Aside from this but possibly pertinent is another box own in the utility room connected the DVACS module. I don't currently use the alarm but would eventually like to.

The system has to be quite old and I know nothing about alarms, before getting an alarm guy in I 'd like to know the options open to me and probability of success for my future plans which are few.

1) it's gotta move from where it is
2) It has to integrate with Crestron control and touchpads.
3) I also can't stand the position of the motion sensors around the house, so they will have to be raised. They're all placed at about 66" from floor, directly in everyone's line of sight.

SO...
Can It be moved reliably and economically or is the 16 zone wiring too troublesome? even if in the ceiling below the floor.
Should I replace all or part with wireless
Are newer wireless alarms as good/better than these older ones?
Is wireless reliable?
Should I start from scratch.Attachment 56405Name:  IMG_2972.jpg
Views: 482
Size:  35.2 KBName:  IMG_2976.jpg
Views: 525
Size:  22.1 KB
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-20-15, 09:08 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,425
Upvotes Received: 214
Whew..... a lot of questions.

The long and short of it is..... you probably cannot move it.

All the wiring runs are to that point. You would have to re-run the wires or install a splice point there, which doesn't sound like an option. It would be a shame to lose all the wired points and switch to wireless.

Wireless system are fairly reliable. I install many high end wireless systems. They aren't cheap.
Keep in mind that you will also see the wireless transmitters at every location like windows and doors.
 
  #3  
Old 09-21-15, 07:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 13
Hi, thanks for your reply, you don't need to read between the lines to realize you put great value in having those wires available.
Can you see 3 pictures or just 2? I ask because I only see 2 when not logged in and it would seem to me ( not sure if this is common practice ) that that round nest of wires is already a splice point with a shorter set feeding the alarm box. If that's the case, I do have an option as the basement ceiling has been opened up there as well as about 3 ft. away right above the boxes is another bedroom closet where they can be meticulously tagged and extended upwards.

I do realize there ware many questions simply because I figured the best answers come with the most information provided up front. I really need to change the entrance so I'm looking for options.

I hadn't thought about the wireless transmitters, thanks

G
 
  #4  
Old 09-21-15, 08:07 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,092
Upvotes Received: 21
While wireless has become quite reliable, it comes at a price. Each transmitter costa 30-40 dollars, and judging by the size of that wire bundle, you have a _lot_ of protected openings. So, it adds up fairly quickly.

Since you are opening walls, you do have a lot more options.
If it were my house, I would look for a place to create your splice extensions. Just realize that you want that to stay accessible (splices buried in walls make electricians and other techs say _bad_ words).
 
  #5  
Old 09-21-15, 08:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 13
Here's the box immediately above the splice boxName:  IMG_2973.jpg
Views: 113
Size:  45.4 KB
 
  #6  
Old 09-21-15, 09:14 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,425
Upvotes Received: 214
Yes... actually you're right. It looks like you have a splice box, the panel of course, and what looks to be an expansion module or perhaps a GSM/internet communication unit.

I'm assuming you want to remove the wall where all the wires are currently located. If they come from the basement your in good shape. You could pull them down and be all set but I'm sure many go up too. If you could locate the wiring above that wall you'd be in better shape.

The only way you'll know for sure is to open the walls and assess the wiring.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes