Running Cat5e between floors?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-23-15, 06:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 34
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Running Cat5e between floors?

I've purchased a POE NVR home surveillance system with 4 cameras.

Going to run the wiring from each camera under my vinyl siding and into the garage. Going to drill a hole from my bonus room which is directly above the garage down into my garage and pull the wires to the NVR.

Figure I will drill directly through the carpet in the bonus room and then use a rubber grommet on both holes.

Are there any cons to this type of wiring or pitfalls I should be aware of? Having never done this before I am slightly apprehensive but it seems pretty straight forward to me.

Thanks in advance
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-23-15, 09:21 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,747
Received 346 Votes on 324 Posts
Drilling thru the carpet can sometimes be disastrous.

Usually the carpet is held down with a tackless strip around the edge. It would be better to try and peel up a corner of the rug and then drill your hole then push the rug back down. Cut a small slot in the rug if the cables won't allow the rug back down.

I'm always hesitant when I drill into a blind area. What I do when I pass thru the floor in closets.... I'll use a 3/16"-1/4" x 18" long feeler bit to drill thru the floor and out the ceiling below. Then I'll drill the proper size, just thru the floor, for the cables. Below the floor where the bit comes out should be sheetrock and you can just enlarge that as needed.
 
  #3  
Old 09-24-15, 06:42 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 20,846
Received 203 Votes on 188 Posts
I agree that it's a bad idea to drill through carpet. Often the fibers catch on the bit and it ends up unraveling and creates a run. You can cut the carpet with a box cutter or other sharp knife and then drill through the subfloor.

There are wire pulling drill bits that might help. They are available in different lengths but mine is about 4' long. It has a 3/4" sprial drill on one end and then a really long flexible shaft so you can bend the drill. The very tip of the drill bit has a hole so after you drill through a floor or wall cavity you leave the drill in place. Attach the wire or a pull cord to the tip of the drill so when you pull the bit out you also pull the wire or cord through the holes just drilled.

 
  #4  
Old 09-24-15, 08:05 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: US
Posts: 391
Received 4 Votes on 3 Posts
I think PJmax and Pilot Dane covered it pretty well. The only thing I might add is hole size and trim-out.

Once I've got a wire path from A-to-B, it seems I always come up with something else that "needs" a cable from A-to-B. Make your hole a little bigger than it needs to be.

At a electrical supply house or electrical section of a big box store (NOT the HVAC section), get a block, usually a pound, of what I call duct seal. Mold it around the cable in the hole in the floor to prevent air (and critter) infiltration. It's easily removed (and sometimes reuseable) when you run the next cable.

For the garage ceiling, get a single-gang low-voltage mounting bracket (sample picture below) and a single-gang Brush Plate for Audio/Visual (2nd picture). Install these before or as you pull the wire; they won't slide around the cables! They provide a finished appearance and access "for the next time". Personally, I'd use the same set up exiting the garage wall (inside only) and add some duct seal to the exterior hole under your siding.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]56537[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=CONFIG]56538[/ATTACH]
 
Attached Images   
  #5  
Old 09-27-15, 03:59 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 34
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks everyone. Went very well. Used a box cutter to just reveal where I wanted to drill. Used a small bit to initially drill through before going to the 18" 1/2" bit. Am going to use either a door lock drill bit or a 1" spade bit to widen the entry and exit holes.

I've got a hole in the end of the 18" bit and I've also got fish tape so hopefully that part will be easy. Picked up a 1lb block of duct seal for the walls.

Have been limited in what I am able to do right now because of constant rain. Oh well, we can surely use the rain.

Thanks again
 
  #6  
Old 09-27-15, 11:18 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 20,846
Received 203 Votes on 188 Posts
I was about to comment that you must be somewhere nearby when you commented about the rain. Sure enough... you are.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: