DSC 1832 - Want to disable battery alarm

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-26-15, 08:53 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
DSC 1832 - Want to disable battery alarm

I've recently installed a DSC 1832 panel. It's working great. I have the panel plugged into an existing monitored UPS that has plenty of capacity and therefore I don't want/need to use the battery backup system through the 1832 panel.

My questions are: I don't see a way to tell the panel to ignore low battery - am I just missing something? My fallback is to fool the panel into thinking that a battery is connected. Before I invest the time into this approach, has anyone else successfully accomplished this?

Thanks for any help.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-26-15, 11:04 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: US
Posts: 391
Received 4 Votes on 3 Posts
I'm long retired and didn't use DSC so I'm not familiar with them, but I would say no. Any panel listed for burglary or fire, residential or commercial, will include some type of battery monitoring that cannot be turned off. The same is true for a burglary listing.

I don't understand why you're powering the panel from a UPS, but buy and install the appropriate battery. That's the simple solution.

Others familiar with DSC will be along and confirm or correct my post.
 
  #3  
Old 09-26-15, 02:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the reply. I'm using a UPS for backup because:

1. I already have the UPS and it has plenty of capacity. Why buy extra batteries when I don't need them?

2. I've got UPS monitoring tools already in place and working that alert me when power is out and when batteries need replacement.

3. Using a UPS allows me to use a smaller enclosure for my panel.

Anyone else have ideas?
 
  #4  
Old 09-26-15, 03:58 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,551
Received 331 Votes on 309 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Anyone else have ideas?
Yes.... it cannot be disabled.
 
  #5  
Old 09-26-15, 04:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the reply. Too bad. I'll figure out how to make the panel think there is a battery connected.
 
  #6  
Old 09-26-15, 06:50 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,165
Received 25 Votes on 24 Posts
Just buy the smallest 12v battery that the local battery shop carries. Since you are also running the UPS, realistically, the battery will be good for 3-7 years, since it will rarely carry a load.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: