Newbie question on wireless zone assignments in DSC PC1616

Old 11-01-15, 04:47 PM
Post Newbie question on wireless zone assignments in DSC PC1616

Hello! I am fairly new to DSC home security set-up. I have found the information in this forum very useful and hoping I can get the right guidance. I have a PC1616 (6 hardwired zones) expanded to 32 wireless zones with a RF5132-433 and a PK5501 display panel. All the 6 hardwired zones were set up by my installer and control various doors and windows around the perimeter of the house. I have successfully added a wireless key FOB (WS4939) to the system this weekend and that was fairly straightforward.

I would like to now add a couple of wireless CO detectors (WS4913), starting with one. I would prefer not to touch the wired zone setup (Section 001) for fear of disturbing any of the wired zones, unless there is a way to just "incrementally" add zone 07 zone-type settings without having to retype all the 6 wired zone type settings (01-06).

Question 1: Is there a programming short cut for this? All the examples I have see thus far show how all the zone types can be specified (e.g.,
*8 [installer code]
001 01 03 03 03 13 05 01 # )
but not just one new zone type that needs to be added.

Question 2: If answer to Q1 is "no", would it be workable/straightforward to assign all the new wireless zones I want to add to Section 002. My understanding is that Section 001 has definitions for zones 01-16 and Section 002 will have definitions for zones 17-32. This way I won't be touching the wired zone settings and hence no risk of any mess-up.

Question 3: With the RF5132-433 already set up on my system and the 6 hardwired zones, do I have (a) 6 wired + 32 wireless = 38 zones in total, OR (b) 6 wired + 10 wireless = 16 zones since it is tied into a PC1616 which is limited to 16 zones, OR (c) something else altogether?

Thanks for any help and pointers!

Surven

Sponsored Links
Old 11-01-15, 06:07 PM
Forum Topic Moderator