240-co to 260-co co trouble

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-05-15, 03:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 305
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
240-co to 260-co co trouble

I just purchased a new 260-co to replace my 240-c0. I have a ademco 20p panel. I followed the direction taking the two alarm wires and installing them to no and c (bottom), negative to negative, positive to positive (top power), old resistor from the 240 and installed on the top portion of c and nc and two wires as jumpers from c (top) to no (bottom) and nc (top) to c (bottom). NC at the bottom is left un touched. The alarm though shows co trouble at my keypad. I have tried to reverse the two alarm wires between c and no at the bottom but no changes. I am not sure what I am doing wrong. I followed the instruction exactly from the directions figure 4 and the online help. Any help is appreciated.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-05-15, 05:30 PM
kcxj's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 928
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You likely caused a trouble condition when you removed the original detector. Try entering your code+1 twice in a row.
 
  #3  
Old 11-07-15, 03:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 305
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I did put in the code twice and 1 and still no luck. I can't get it to clear for the life of me. If anyone else has any ideas on what I can do I would appreciate it.
 
  #4  
Old 11-07-15, 04:48 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 603
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
1- are the LEDs giving any indication of an issue?

2 - are you connecting it up the same as the previous sensor?
 
  #5  
Old 11-07-15, 08:29 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,163
Received 25 Votes on 24 Posts
Look carefully at the wiring diagram on the new one, you may not have it connected the way you _think_ it's connected.

Reading your description of how you connected the resistor, I think I see what you did wrong.

By your description, you put the EOL across the tamper/trouble C/NC terminals. The resistor should be in _series_ with either of the two jumpers.
 
  #6  
Old 11-10-15, 02:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 305
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I looked at the diagram figure 4 and have it installed exactly. I also saw pictures online. I wanted to attach a picture of my setup but it will not allow me. I have tried everything but still have co trouble at the panel. I am wondering where I used the two wires as jumpers if that is my issue. In the diagram it said (1) end-of-line device provided by the life safety system. I used just a reg alarm wire, should I have used a special wire? Other than that I have it installed exactly as the diagram describes.

Top terminals:
c -jumper to bottom NO -Resistor from old 240
nc- jumper to bottom C - Resistor from old 240
+ power
_ ground

Bottom

NC- empty
c - alarm wire from panel, and a jumper up to top NC
no- alarm wire from panel, and a jumper up to top C

Should I reprogram anything at the panel. Any advise is appreciated.
 
  #7  
Old 11-10-15, 05:58 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Try this.. The directions are confusing.
Name:  image.jpg
Views: 73
Size:  32.3 KB
 
  #8  
Old 11-10-15, 06:55 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,163
Received 25 Votes on 24 Posts
The resistor goes _in line_ (series) with one of the jumpers from the trouble terminals NOT across the trouble terminal (that would be parallel with a switch that is closed under normal conditions)
 
  #9  
Old 11-10-15, 07:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 305
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ok I see what you are talking about with the resistor so I installed it on just one of the upper jumpers and I still have the same issue. I also tried the two wire method as you have in the picture and still the same issue...co trouble..I would be glad to upload a picture but this site will not allow me to
 
  #10  
Old 11-11-15, 02:41 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,163
Received 25 Votes on 24 Posts
Simple test: For now, put the resistor across the C/NO alarm terminal (ignore the trouble relay, for now). Does the zone clear (after entering code + 1)? If not, then you may have a continuity problem. The final test is to take the zone wiring off at the alarm motherboard and put the resistor there.

Double check your resistor. Make sure it's a 2K (Red Black Red for the first 3 stripes).
 
  #11  
Old 11-11-15, 01:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 305
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok.. I ignored the trouble relay and disconnected the two jumpers. I did what you said as far as a test and put the resistor (proper resistor) across the c/no and I was able to clear the trouble code so that test was a success. Should I leave it setup this way or is there something else I need to do?
 
  #12  
Old 11-11-15, 02:44 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,163
Received 25 Votes on 24 Posts
What that tells me is the either your trouble relay is in an out of normal state, or you somehow have the trouble relay wiring done incorrectly: (if you have power applied to the CO detector, and there is no trouble state, the relay terminals next to the power input should read as _closed_).

You do want this configuration to work, because that is what alerts you when the detector element fails due to age (they only last about 5-6 years), or if their is loss of DC power to the detector.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: