Accessing a DSC Escort 5580 (phone access code unknown) ...

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-17-15, 10:43 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Accessing a DSC Escort 5580 (phone access code unknown) ...

The house I recently purchased has a DSC 5010 and Escort 5580 system. Non of the codes were provided by the seller nor was she able to remember them. Fortunately the 5010 installer code had not been changed so I was able to go into the programming and change the master code. Unfortunately the default phone access code [***] for the Escort 5580 was changed and I can’t seem to access it for programming. If I call it from my cell phone as explained in the manual, it will respond with [Hello] but that is as far as I can get with it without the phone access code. This leads me to a few questions.

Is there any way to access the Escort programming via the 5501Z keypad (not the phone)? From what I've read I don't see there is a procedure to do so. Any work around?

If I have to reset the system to default, will I loose all programming that has been entered to the Escort 5580?

How can I reset just Escort 5580 without affecting the DSC 5010 programming?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-17-15, 12:52 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,176
Received 28 Votes on 27 Posts
*8 [installer code] 995

See PC 5010 installer manual section 5.32.2 (page 38)
 
  #3  
Old 11-17-15, 01:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Very well.... by that reply I may assume that there is no work around the pass code and I must lose all programming that was previously setup on the Escort module. I was sure hoping not to have to reset it all over 3 characters. But I guess I could sit here and fish through over 1700 possible codes... lol - not going to happen. Suppose resetting it is just what I got to do.

Thank you again for your valued time!
 
  #4  
Old 11-17-15, 01:37 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,176
Received 28 Votes on 27 Posts
Sadly, yes, other than a default, there is no workaround to reset just the access code on the escort module. It's one of the few DSC modules that doesn't program from the system keypad.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: