DSC Keypad lost tamper widget

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-06-15, 10:45 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 2
DSC Keypad lost tamper widget

Hi,

Hope someone can help me please.

I've been trying to install a DSC alarm and when I wired the keypad up to the alarm I get a keybus error. The wiring is correct I checked and double checked however I've noticed that the tamper rubber thing - sorry not sure of correct terminology is missing.

Firstly is this causing this error and secondly is there any way of replacing it without buying a brand new keypad in other words can I make one?

Many thanks in advance
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-06-15, 01:19 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,012
Likes Received: 10
It's pretty much the same contact device used for membrane keypads.

Check with your local alarm dealer, that same piece is used on the door/window transmitters, and they often have a few floating around from replacing bad transmitters. Otherwise, a transmitter is much cheaper to buy than a keypad.
 
  #3  
Old 12-06-15, 01:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 2
Thanks and do you think that is what is casuing the keybus error?
 
  #4  
Old 12-06-15, 06:11 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,012
Likes Received: 10
Assuming that you have the keybus wiring and connections correct, it seems likely.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes