How to change master code with 6162 keypad

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-08-15, 02:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How to change master code with 6162 keypad

Howdy, probably an extremely dumb question, but I can't seem to figure out how to change master code with 6162 keypad. Master code + [8] + 02 + new userís code + new userís code wont work on the 6162. Can I change it under the settings screen where you can add users and what not? I have all the bugs worked out except for this. I even used the wrong package of resistors that took me a day to figure out why every zone had a fault! Good grief!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-08-15, 04:24 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,706
Received 344 Votes on 322 Posts
What alarm panel is that keypad connected to ?
 
  #3  
Old 12-08-15, 04:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Oops, sorry, a Vista 20p.
 
  #4  
Old 12-09-15, 05:57 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 223
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Try doing Installer Code + 802 + the code you want to be Master Code.

Keep in mind the IC and MC can't be the same.
 
  #5  
Old 12-09-15, 06:47 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tried that too, didn't work.
 
  #6  
Old 12-09-15, 07:45 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 223
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
When you press IC + 800, do you see '20' or 'Installer Code 20' on the keypad display?
 
  #7  
Old 12-09-15, 07:54 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yessir, I can do everything it just wont let me change the master code. I was able to change the installer code with no problem. This newer pad seems to have quirks, supposed to be more user friendly but I am thinking not.
 
  #8  
Old 12-09-15, 08:01 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 223
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What happens when you press IC + 802 + new 4-digit MC?

Are you hearing any beeps at the end of the sequence? Are you hearing beeps for every button pressed during the sequence? Are you pressing the buttons in fast succession with no long pauses in between buttons?
 
  #9  
Old 12-09-15, 08:46 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
When I try to enter the new MC, it doesn't give me the confirmation beep at the end. I don't recall if the keys beep when pressed, I think so. I have a second keypad, a 6152 I believe, I am gonna try to change it from that one and see what happens.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: