Trying to figure out an RJ-31X phone jack

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-13-16, 02:19 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Trying to figure out an RJ-31X phone jack

I am trying to wire in a RJ-31X. It may not be able to work this way, but here is how I attempted to wire it up as a test.

- Wired one side of a 4-pin modular plug to a house phone, the other end was wired to the RJ-31X (Red and Green to the RJ-31X 1 and 8, respectively).

- Wired one side of a 4-pin modular plug directly to the wall outlet, the other end was wired to the RJ-31X (Red and Green to the RJ-31X 4 and 5, respectively).

* Tested the house phone that was connected to the 1 and 8 on the RJ-31X and dial tone was present.

* Plugged a secondary 4-pin modular plug into the modular plug on the RJ-31X and dial tone to the house phone disappeared. Tried several things, but could not get the dial tone to stay on the house side.

Does this unit not operate like this? Does it need to be connected directly to the Demarcation point? Im am just testing the unit, but it seems like it should work.

I appreciate any help, just trying to learn.
 

Last edited by MexTex; 01-13-16 at 02:36 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-13-16, 04:35 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,099
Received 1,112 Votes on 1,032 Posts
An RJ-31X is a communications jack.

You connect the incoming phone line to terminals 4 and 5.
You connect the phone or the rest of the house to terminals 1 and 8.

If nothing is plugged into the jack the phone line is passed thru it to the phones. When you put a plug into it....... the incoming line is separated from the outgoing phone.

Some RJ-31X jacks do not use the shorting method. That means without a plug in place and wired...... nothing is passed thru.

Name:  31x.jpg
Views: 1254
Size:  19.9 KB

When the alarm is in standby..... it's like the red and green jumpers are in place passing the line thru the alarm panel. When there is an alarm...... the dialer disconnects the phones from the phone line and just allows the panel to communicate. When the dialer is finished.... the lines are reconnected.
 
  #3  
Old 01-13-16, 05:19 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is it possible to connect an emergency pool phone to an RJ31X, when the phone is being fed only 2 wires (red and green)?
 
  #4  
Old 01-13-16, 08:05 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: US
Posts: 459
Received 14 Votes on 13 Posts
Yes, but the remaining phones will not be disconnected; that is done by the alarm panel. I doubt your pool phone provides that feature.
 
  #5  
Old 01-13-16, 11:43 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,099
Received 1,112 Votes on 1,032 Posts
Why do you have an RJ-31X jack ? Do you have an alarm panel there ?

If not.... just connect the phone across the main phone lines.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: