Retrofit Brinks BHS3000

Old 02-21-16, 10:06 AM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Retrofit Brinks BHS3000

I recently purchased a home with a Brinks BHS 3000 security system. I have no intention of subscribing with ADT or Brinks. So....I want to retrofit the system and re use as much as possible(door, fire alarm, etc). I would appreciate recommendations from the group if you have any. Everything is hardwired so I would love to reuse the existing wiring and sensors if possible rather than installing something that's wireless to the sensors. I have seen some recommendations so a HW Vista-20P but not sure if that makes sense. I am an engineer so there really won't be any issues with programming and hooking up networking if needed. I would like something I can monitor the house from my smartphone. I already have security cameras installed using the existing wireless network so cameras aren't that important to me. Would like door and motion and fire alarms.

I am up for paying for a service on a monthly basis on a nominal fee to call police, etc but I don't want to do anything >$10/month.

TIA!

Sponsored Links
Old 02-21-16, 11:00 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 23 Votes on 22 Posts
Vista 20p with the addition of the envisalink add on module (EnvisaLink 4 – Control Your DSC & Honeywell Security System From Your Smart Phone | EyezOn) will probably be your best bet, in my opinion.

Old 02-21-16, 05:02 PM
Thank you for the quick reply. Question: Current system has two control panels; one upstairs, one downstairs. Any issue with the Vista 20P handling two control panels?

Old 02-21-16, 08:47 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
They will handle up to 8 standard keypads.

Old 02-26-16, 08:04 AM
Question on 20P Wiring

So I purchased a Vista 20P to replace the existing Brinks system. It all looks pretty much straightforward. A couple of questions: