Need some help programming caddx network nx-6

Reply

  #41  
Old 05-24-16, 10:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 29
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
System Board Replacement

If I did replace the system board, with for example NX-8 or NX- 6V2 would I be able to use all my wireless sensors, keypads, two wired motion detectors along with my wireless NX-408.
 
Sponsored Links
  #42  
Old 05-25-16, 04:49 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,217
Received 32 Votes on 31 Posts
Yes, but you would be programming everything from scratch.
 
  #43  
Old 05-25-16, 07:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 29
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Nx-591e-gsm utc

MrRonfl

what is your opinion of the NX-591E-GSM UTC thinking of going this route instead of telephone line. I've read that there is a NX-592 but unsure if it is compatible with my system. I'm not comfortable replacing the system board right now.

I have gotten a better perspective on programming the system with your help, but not there yet.
 
  #44  
Old 05-25-16, 07:57 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,217
Received 32 Votes on 31 Posts
The cellular units work very well, but you have to go through a dealer to have them work. IT's not a matter of popping a sim card into the units.

NX modules are generally backward compatible. The difference between a NX-591 and 592 it that they go through two different service dealers.
 
  #45  
Old 05-26-16, 09:44 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 29
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Gsm

You mentioned that I would have to go thru a dealer to have it work.
Does that mean I would have to purchase new? There are a few 591 on ebay.
 
  #46  
Old 05-26-16, 11:14 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,217
Received 32 Votes on 31 Posts
No, it just takes a Cellemetry or Alarm.com dealer to activate the unit. Used ones can be reset to factory default.
 
  #47  
Old 05-26-16, 03:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 29
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank You!

I think I will look for a used 592, believe it's 4g where the 591 is 3g
 
  #48  
Old 05-26-16, 09:40 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,412
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
591 is UTC/GE's cellular radio.....very limited options with this guy...basically it will page/text or email you system events...

592 is the Alarm.Com radio....

go with the 592....

both require you to activate them through a dealer...
 
  #49  
Old 05-28-16, 06:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 29
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Battery Backup

Good News, We lost power to our home today. Battery backup does work.

Not sure why when I unplugged the power from the ac, battery backup did not work, but the power ac was plugged in when we lost power, battery backup worked as intended.
 
  #50  
Old 06-11-16, 08:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 29
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Zone Descriptions

When I installed the new keypad the zone descriptions did not copy over.
Example: zone 16 - Kitchen - existing keypad
zone 16 zone 16 - new keypad
 
  #51  
Old 06-11-16, 08:44 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,217
Received 32 Votes on 31 Posts
Are both keypads the exact same model number? If one of them is a NX-148 and the other is a NX-148E, the data may not transfer properly. You may have to manually program in the descriptors to the new keypad.

There are also settings that could have been set that make the transfer not work.
 
  #52  
Old 06-11-16, 11:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 29
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
manually program in the descriptors to the new keypad.

Keypads are the same. I could not find how to manually program the descriptors in the new keypad, please direct me.

Thanks
 
  #53  
Old 06-12-16, 10:39 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,217
Received 32 Votes on 31 Posts
Installer manual: http://www.homecontrols.com/GENX148E_Installation.pdf

Page 5 has the shortcuts for the letters and pre defined words

Page 9 has the programming instructions for the custom messages.

If you did not enter the message programming on the existing keypad and make a change, then the messages would not have automatically transferred to the new one, as previously observed.
 
  #54  
Old 06-12-16, 10:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 29
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
did not enter the message programming on the existing keypad and make a change

What is the simplest change that I can do so I don't mess something else up.
 
  #55  
Old 06-13-16, 03:23 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,217
Received 32 Votes on 31 Posts
Add a space to the end of a word.
 
  #56  
Old 06-18-16, 06:42 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You may have to manually program in the descriptors to the new keypad.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: