Driveway sensor comments - GE/Resolution RE104

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-08-16, 01:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 70
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Driveway sensor comments - GE/Resolution RE104

So I've had this for about a week and half now and it has been a big disappointment. The success rate on detecting cars in the drive is about 1 out of 5. I've tried everything Resolution Products recommended and still no improvement. I've called tech support and while very knowledgeable I unfortunately think this is an inferior product.

I was using a Mighty Mule driveway sensor to alert me to when vehicles approach the house. The success rate for it was 9 out of 10. The range from sensor to house is also much greater for the Mighty Mule. I have had to reduce the range by half for the RE104.

The reason for trying to switch to a GE sensor is that I would like to have the sensor trigger a scene when tripped for my zwave controlled lights. I'm using FrontPoint's new IQ Touch Panel.

If anyone has any further suggestions I'm all ears, otherwise I'll be scrapping it.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-08-16, 02:46 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,064
Received 370 Votes on 347 Posts
I'm not familiar with that GE sensor system but I do know of the Mighty Mule equipment.
Why don't you use the MM sensor ?
Incompatible output ?
 
  #3  
Old 07-09-16, 05:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 70
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm not sure how to integrate the MM system into my Frontpoint (GE/Simon XT) system? It's a simple sensor with a receiver that sits inside the house and beeps.
 
  #4  
Old 07-09-16, 06:51 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,204
Received 30 Votes on 29 Posts
Many of those receiver units have a "form C" (NO-C-NC) relay output that you could connect to the hardwired input of one of the Simon transmitters. The Mighty Mule may not, but there are several, similar systems that do.

I like the Optex 2000 system. It's not the _cheapest_ but they are reliable, and seem to hold up in a fairly harsh environment (Florida) pretty well.
 
  #5  
Old 07-10-16, 06:40 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 70
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the info Ron, I'll check out the Optex. I've looked at the MM and unfortunately it doesn't have outputs you mentioned.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: