How to clear "Control - Fail to comm." in NX-8V2, NX-1192E keypad?


  #1  
Old 08-15-16, 02:18 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Red face How to clear "Control - Fail to comm." in NX-8V2, NX-1192E keypad?

I am a newbie and have been reading comments in the past three months from this DIY forum. Thank for this great DIY forum.

I have a one-year new NX-8V2 system with LCD keypad NX-1191E using a POT line for dial-out. The system is installed by the builder/alarm company. It is pricy to have a dedicated POT landline and the central station service together. Anyway, the alarm company downloaded and restored the system to the factory default prior to the termination of the POT line. I have successfully programmed the NX-8V2 to be local only based on the comments (i.e.*8[9713],0#,2#,0*,37# and 39#, turn-off 1 &2, etc.) from this forum. It works. Thanks again.

I contemplated the setting to call out via my Ooma line yesterday. Of course, it did not work and the Ooma was shutdown. I rebooted Ooma and restored the VioP service. Anyway, I have the following query:
• How to clear the “Service Required – Type *2 for help”, and the subsequent “Control – Fail to comm.” message shown in the LCD display? This does not interrupt the Arming and Disarming the security system. Just annoying!

I have queries related to a “Network/Cellular” plug-in for the NX-8V2. I am thinking about installing ipDatatel BAT CDMA Plug-in and register an account in alarmdealer.com, so that the plug-in can send network message to the central station with CDMA back-up. However, I would like to have the option of eliminating the central station service and receive message in my SmartPhone directly without paying a monthly fee if possible. I have the following queries:
• Can the ipDatatel BAT CDMA plug-in be used for self-monitoring, i.e. using the ip-Network to text my SmartPhone without an account in the alarmdealer.com? One should be able to access the ip-Network signal directly from a SmartPhone with a “smart” APP. Not sure whether it is available now.
• If not, is there any other network plug-in available for self-monitoring without paying a monthly fee? It is probably cheaper to purchase another plug-in than paying monthly fees for years. Otherwise, I will consider using a VeraEdge Z wave controller or an openHAB device as an alternate later.

Appreciate to hear comments from the community.
 
  #2  
Old 08-15-16, 06:21 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,993
Received 132 Votes on 123 Posts
If you have reset the control to be a local system again (by changing the dialer format back to "0") the fail to communicate trouble should clear on it's own. At worst, you may need to power the system down and reboot.
 
  #3  
Old 08-15-16, 07:17 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Power done works. Thanks.
 
  #4  
Old 08-16-16, 03:43 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can standard Ooma be used for NX-8V2 alarm system as a landline to call out?

Alarm dealers do not allow customers to use most VioPs, such as, Ooma, MagicJack, etc. as landlines. Not sure about the reasons. After getting confidence on programming the NX-8V2 system with NX-1192E LCD keypad, I decided to re-program the NX-8V2 from the “0=Local” to call out via the standard Ooam VoIP in two communication formats, “1=Universal 4+2” and “4=Pager”. I would like to share the results of these tests:

• “1=Universal 4+2”: Not sure about the details of this protocol. When the alarm is set off, it keeps on calling Phone 1 until Phone 1 is turned off. Only Caller ID is shown on Phone 1. The LCD keypad shows “Control Fail to Comm.”.
• “4=Pager”: The same happened, except for no error message shown in LCD keypad. In other words, you know something happened if Phone 1 keeps on ringing. You don’t need to reset or reprogram NX-8V2 back to “0=Local”.
 
  #5  
Old 08-16-16, 06:06 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,993
Received 132 Votes on 123 Posts
4+2 is one of the standard alarm receiver formats. It sends a 4 digit account number and a 2 digit event code with each transmission, and you have to individually program the event codes and define them with the central station. It's strictly a central station format.

Pager is the only choice that will not generate a communication error.

Central stations do not recommend (and will not accept the liability for) derived phone lines like those made by Magic Jack or Ooma because they have been demonstrated to be unreliable in transmitting alarm codes to central stations.

Voice transmission is more forgiving than digital tone based communication.
 
  #6  
Old 04-25-18, 10:10 AM
D
Member
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi - I'm trying to figure out how to program NX-8V2 to be local only. I don't have it monitored anymore and keep getting a "fail to comm" error message. I have a Ooma VoIP phone line. Any suggestions?
 
  #7  
Old 04-25-18, 10:43 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,183
Received 1,528 Votes on 1,411 Posts
You will need the programming code.
Programming starts on page 15.
You need to access location #2 and change communicator to 0.

Location: 2..... Phone 1 communicator format: 0
(Communicator is disabled - local only)

interlogix/libraryInstallation Manual.pdf
 
  #8  
Old 10-28-19, 03:18 PM
I
Member
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I also would like to re-program to local mode only. I tried to make sense of the manual. Can someone provide the step by step instruction. I do have the installer code. My keypad and siren does not goes off anymore as i had my previous monitor company disable it when i was having a lot of broadband disconnection (VOIP). What i do get is the "Control - Fail to Comm" message. I figure if i go local monitoring ONLY, i will not get that message anymore. Would it be:

*8
xxxx (for the installer code)
2#
0#
Exit
 
  #9  
Old 10-28-19, 04:38 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,993
Received 132 Votes on 123 Posts
Yup, assuming that you were set up as just a single account, that's all it takes. You _might_ have to power cycle to clear the trouble from the system memory.
 
  #10  
Old 10-29-19, 06:34 AM
I
Member
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tks MrRonFL. I will try it out today.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: