ADT Safewatch Plus RF turn off phone dialer

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-19-16, 03:00 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ADT Safewatch Plus RF turn off phone dialer

I had this system installed probably 1996-1998.
I have been using it as a stand alone for years.
Tonight the alarm went off and kept referring to 92.
The system will not let me shut the alarm off
I read somewhere this might be code for dialing out if so, I need to disable that feature.
I have attached a picture of my alarm, the green light is not really steady on, all the lights rotate, just happen to get the pic showing green light.
Can someone please help me so I can use my alarm again??
Well it won't let me add pic, anyway it is rather large, no display screen. I read in some forums some codes to disable the calling but they all use * and # which is not on my keypad UGH
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-19-16, 03:54 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,217
Received 32 Votes on 31 Posts
This was an ITI Commander 2000 modified for ADT. Most of the codes you see on this forum for "Safewatch" panels are for the Honeywell/Ademco clones, so they don't apply to this system.
User manual: https://alpha.adt.com/content/dam/My...SWPRF-User.pdf

Installer manual: http://static.interlogix.com/library...structions.pdf

If all the LEDs are scrolling, that's an indication of an alarm on the system, or there's a sensor or phone test running. Press the Status button for more information.
 
  #3  
Old 08-19-16, 04:14 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
For some unknown reason it finally let me turn the alarm off, weird, it wouldn't let me for 2 hours!
When I press status it says sensor 92 intrusion alarm, I have no idea what 92 is, none of my sensors have that number.
 
  #4  
Old 08-19-16, 04:18 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, inside my user manual it as Copyright ITI 1994 :-)
you are so awesome, the picture on the installation manual is exactly what it looks like!
 
  #5  
Old 08-19-16, 05:06 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,217
Received 32 Votes on 31 Posts
You may have a transmitter on some forgotten door or window (or even a motion detector) that has a failed battery or even a failed transmitter.

The problem with really old installs like this, is often the zone list/paperwork is long lost (and ADT installers are notoriously bad about providing a good walkthrough of the system after installation).
 
  #6  
Old 08-19-16, 05:27 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Actually I still have everything even the list of sensors lol
Would u have any idea what 92 might be
Mine are all 1-10 no motion ones
 
  #7  
Old 08-19-16, 06:25 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,217
Received 32 Votes on 31 Posts
Took a while to spot it. Look in table A5 in the installation manual. 92 is the tamper switch on the alarm panel enclosure.
 
  #8  
Old 08-20-16, 04:52 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hum, wonder why that would be going off, I will look in the installation manual. Wonder if there is a way to turn that switch off, not the first time the alarm coded 92 was just the time it wouldn't let me shut alarm off for hours.
You are awesome, thank you so much for the time spent on this project.
 
  #9  
Old 08-20-16, 08:57 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,217
Received 32 Votes on 31 Posts
It's just a little pushbutton on the circuit board. Sometimes, with age, the plastic warps enough that the little protrusion doesn't push the switch enough, or the little switch could simply be failing. The act of taking the cover off and putting it back on made it re-engage.

Keep in mind that this hardware is creeping up on 20 years old. The law of entropy hasn't been repealed.
 
  #10  
Old 08-20-16, 03:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I was reading through the installation manual and it showed sensor 92 was defaulted to ON and I could go in programming mode and turn it off.
It said, go into programming mode
Bypass 92
Exit programming mode
I think I might try this and see if it stops the occasional trips for 92 :-)
You have been wonderful and thank you for all your help!
Do you think if I purchased one of these, may sensors would work with it, the sensors look a like

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00IFHE7DG...oding=UTF8&me=
 
  #11  
Old 08-20-16, 05:15 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,217
Received 32 Votes on 31 Posts
_Most_ of the transmitters compatible with the Commander 2000 will be compatible with a Simon. The exceptions that I've run into are one of the motion detector models, and the wireless smoke detectors. ITI/GE/Interlogix hasn't really changed the tech on their wireless in a long time.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: