GE Concord 4 for European installation

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-19-16, 05:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
GE Concord 4 for European installation

I finally purchased a GE Concord 4 and GE RS232 module. A very solid panel and so easy to program.

The GE Concord 4 is a 110vac rated panel so even using the recommended class 2 transformer I needed to use a stepdown 220vac to 110vac transformer to get this panel working. All is working fine. The problem now is the x10 signal will not pass through the 240vac to 110vac leg of the power supply. Is there any other means of passing an x10 signal from the panel to the power line to my x10 devices.

Regarding the GE Concord RS232 automation module, what is the best option for communicating with it. I've used a serial monitor and both send and receive are working fine. I've looked at Homeseer, Vera and Smarthing but it's hard to choose which is the best. Maybe someone could point me in the right direction.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-19-16, 06:43 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,204
Received 30 Votes on 29 Posts
X-10 transmissions are going to be blocked by that stepdown transformer (it's the nature of the beast). I don't think Interlogix makes an X-10 transformer for European electrical system compatibility.
 
  #3  
Old 08-20-16, 05:02 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Do you have an x10 unit in the US that would overcome this problem. The reason I ask is in Europe there is a unit called an XM10. It is used by a number of other panel manufacturers to implement x10. It connects to an RJ11 socket at one end and plugs directly into the mains. I'm wondering if a unit like this could be used on the GE Concord 4 to push x10 signals from the panel through the mains and into the various x10 devices.
 
  #4  
Old 08-20-16, 09:01 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,204
Received 30 Votes on 29 Posts
By and large, the alarm manufacturers have moved away from X-10 in favor of things like z-wave. In essence, X-10 is largely a "legacy" technology, and they aren't putting much effort into it.
 
  #5  
Old 08-20-16, 10:28 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks RonFL.

Maybe the GEGUY might have a take on this. I may be able to connect the XM10 unit via the GE Phone/Voice module and this could be a way of transmitting an x10 signal from the panel to the mains.

Such a shame manufacturers are turning their backs on x10. The alternatives are very expensive.
 
  #6  
Old 08-20-16, 10:46 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 44
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, but the alternatives are MUCH more reliable than X10
 
  #7  
Old 08-20-16, 12:18 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 603
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Though not very familiar with x10 technology [started residential alarms in the z-wave era], I do know that you can have issues with the panel being on one phase and the device being on another.

That being said, European homes may be wired differently than those in the US.
 
  #8  
Old 08-20-16, 03:28 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,204
Received 30 Votes on 29 Posts
Their electrical panels handle phases differently than North American panels do. While X-10 was originally developed in Scotland, and does work with European electrical systems, the interface devices have to be euro specific.
 
  #9  
Old 08-21-16, 08:11 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The US equivalent of the European XM10 is the TW523. I was thinking that this would be capable of passing x10 signal from the panel back through the house mains wiring via the phone wiring.

In Europe we have one single phase of 220-240vac while in the US you have choice of one single phase of 240vac or two seperate 110vac phases if I'm not mistaken.

The key to the stepdown supply transformer in the US of 110vac to 16vac that the GE panel requires is the fact that this transformer is wired centre tapped. Again I may be mistaken here.
 
  #10  
Old 08-23-16, 05:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Any chance that someone might know if I can use an alternative to the ac power supply for x10 control.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: