Vista 20P fire alarm options

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-28-16, 06:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Vista 20P fire alarm options

I am looking to replace each of the 9 existing smoke alarms in my house with RF wireless detectors. I was thinking on making a move on the Honeywell 5808W3, but those are pretty expensive per unit, and that would make ~$700 to outfit the house.

I am wondering, are there any other CHEAPER smoke alarms that would work with my system (ADT Safewatch Pro 3000, Vista 20P)?

I have a Honeywell 6160RF keypad for my wireless transciever...

I have ADT Pulse with a Netgear PGZNG1 ADT Pulse Gateway, so would a Z-Wave alarm do the same thing (alert the system, and show on the keypad what zone has been activated)... and if so, how would I program.

If I would make a move on a Z-Wave, it would probably be this unit: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...k_ql_qh_dp_hza



I would much prefer that it would be a Honeywell 5800 RF wireless series compatible type, but if Z-Wave works as a RF Honeywell alarm, I may make a move.


Thanks in advance for any help, sorry if this a jumbled mess.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-28-16, 06:28 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,169
Received 27 Votes on 26 Posts
Wireless devices are brand specific. The only wireless smokes that will integrate with your system are the Honeywell models.

Z wave smoke detectors don't integrate with security systems without going through a z wave adaptor hub (and security systems generally don't interface with the hubs that easily).

Z wave functionality on security systems is pretty much limited to light and relay control (its an output, not really an input).
 
  #3  
Old 09-28-16, 07:32 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,669
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
Since you currently have a hardwired system.... why wouldn't you stay with that and replace the heads. It certainly eliminates having to change individual batteries in all the units.

Usually the wireless units are used when it's too hard to run cables in a house.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: